![]() |
|
|
|||
You are saying an example would be if the inbound pass was touched by the defense, the shot clock starts but the back court count doesn't start until there is team control?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
But (two big "ifs" coming here. . .) IF you know that control was gained immediately and IF you know the shot clock started properly, then when the shot clock shows 24, a violation has occurred. Somebody needs to call it. If the Trail's count is off because he/she is concentrating on the backcourt pressure, the Lead should make the call.
I have no problem with the Lead making the call here. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The shot clock is what makes this sit interesting.
You could say the same thing for a 3 second violation. The lead is watching the paint and is looking for advantage/ disadvantage. By rule the trail has the right to make a 3 second call. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
9-10...An inbounds player (and his team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in his back court for 10 consecutive seconds.If you called the violation when the clock shows 24 then 11 seconds have expired. The violation takes place when the count is equal to 10 seconds. This is different from a throw-in. A throw-in violation occurs when the count is greater then 5 seconds (not equal to 5 seconds): 4-67-5...A thrower-in shall have five seconds from receiving disposal of the ball to release the throw-in. The throw-in count shall end when the ball is released by the thrower-in so that the ball goes directly into the playing court.The 3 second rule is the same as the throw-in (> 3 seconds): 4-9 Art. 1...A player shall not be permitted to have any part of his or her body remain in the three-second lane for more than three consecutive seconds while the ball is in control of that player’s team in his or her front court. |
|
|||
Yes, but I said 24 because that was the situation in the original post of this thread.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Shot clock violation? Or play on? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 5 | Sun Oct 26, 2008 04:15am |
Shot Clock Violation? | OHBBREF | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:29pm |
SHOT CLOCK VIOLATION? | MRIGUY | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:58pm |
Shot Clock Violation Reviewable? | aces88 | Basketball | 1 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 02:29pm |
Is it a Shot Clock Violation? | RdBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 06, 2001 01:50pm |