The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
Traveling Question

With both feet off the ground:

1.Player catches ball in the air lands on right foot, jumps off that foot lands left. No Travel, picture a layup.

2.Player catches ball in the air lands on right foot, jumps off that foot and lands on both feet no pivot foot, this is a legal play.


My question is with both feet on the ground:

A player is pivoting on the right foot, jumps off that foot and lands with the left foot. Travel.

A player is pivoting on the right foot, jumps off that foot and lands with both feet. Travel.

Am I correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 10:47am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
With both feet off the ground:

1.Player catches ball in the air lands on right foot, jumps off that foot lands left. No Travel, picture a layup.

2.Player catches ball in the air lands on right foot, jumps off that foot and lands on both feet – no pivot foot, this is a legal play.


My question is with both feet on the ground:

A: A player is pivoting on the right foot, jumps off that foot and lands with the left foot. Travel.

B: A player is pivoting on the right foot, jumps off that foot and lands with both feet. Travel.

Am I correct?
A: The travel rule says that the ball must be released on the dribble before the the pivot foot comes off the ground. On any other action, as in a shot, pass, or requesting a timeout, the pivot foot is permitted to be lifted before the action, but it must not return to the floor before the offensive act. Since the right foot is the pivot foot, and it is lifted before a dribble, that player can no longer legally dribble. Doing so would be a travel. They are permitted to shoot or pass or request a timeout, however.

B: Shorlt.y
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Fri Feb 06, 2009 at 11:31am. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 11:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I believe it is a travel for a player to jump off of either foot and return to the floor (except the jump stop) even if the pivot is not returned.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kansas
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
A: The travel rule says that the ball must be released on the dribble before the the pivot foot comes off the ground. On any other action, as in a shot, pass, or requesting a timeout, the pivot foot is permitted to be lifted before the action, but it must not return to the floor before the offensive act. Since the right foot is the pivot foot, and it is lifted before a dribble, that player can no longer legally dribble. Doing so would be a travel. They are permitted to shoot or pass or request a timeout, however.

B: Shorlt.y
I completely and totally agree with Jugglingref on A.

I am not sure what SHORLT. means but I assume that the y is yes for a travel on B. The pivot foot returned to the ground and this is a travel no matter what you try to do with the ball, dribble, shot, pass or call time out.

I believe that the travel violation is the hardest call in basketball. The rule is complex and judgement must be made in a fraction of a second. The only way that you can do this well is to practice watching game tape and in person, id the pivot foot and understand all the complexities of the rule.

We did this as part of a class at a ref camp. We were 20+ rows up in stands with a D1 official for a complete game. We would watch the game and D1 official would ask on individual plays what was pivot foot, what could they do etc. This helped me immensely in calling travel. I probably watched ten plus games during that camp and continue to do that at any game I attend or watch.

Women's college officials are probably the best at this. IMHO, men's officials miss 5+ travels a game. I see alot of HS officials miss travels and call non travels. We must practice to get this right.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 12:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I disagree, if the player jumps from one foot to the other, it's a travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
What about this one: Player is dribbling down the court, he picks up his dribble as he's jumping off of his right foot. He jump stops and both feet land at the same time. Can he pivot or not?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 12:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
What about this one: Player is dribbling down the court, he picks up his dribble as he's jumping off of his right foot. He jump stops and both feet land at the same time. Can he pivot or not?
Did he pick up the dribble before or after he jumped off his right foot?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Did he pick up the dribble before or after he jumped off his right foot?
Before.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
What about this one: Player is dribbling down the court, he picks up his dribble as he's jumping off of his right foot. He jump stops and both feet land at the same time. Can he pivot or not?
I was just coming on here to post a similar question. Had this happen to me. Guy couldn't stop his momentum and took one step with his left foot. I didn't call traveling because I wasn't 100% sure...only 95%
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 01:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
What about this one: Player is dribbling down the court, he picks up his dribble as he's jumping off of his right foot. He jump stops and both feet land at the same time. Can he pivot or not?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Did he pick up the dribble before or after he jumped off his right foot?
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Before.
No, he cannot pivot. He can lift one or both feet (another jump) off the floor, but nothing can return to the floor before he shoots, passes, or requests a timeout.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I disagree, if the player jumps from one foot to the other, it's a travel.
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is
released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball
is released on a pass or try for goal.

That said, I think 3b is frequently ignored unless it's egregious.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 01:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is
released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball
is released on a pass or try for goal.

That said, I think 3b is frequently ignored unless it's egregious.
Fair enough, but we have to judge whether it's a step or a jump. If it's a step, it's legal; if it's a jump, it's not.

What was that word again?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about traveling... greatgamer Basketball 24 Mon Dec 22, 2008 05:14pm
Traveling Question # 623 Larks Basketball 31 Tue Oct 09, 2007 02:29pm
Traveling question ATXCoach Basketball 25 Fri Oct 05, 2007 01:14pm
Traveling question KCRef Basketball 8 Thu Dec 21, 2006 03:28pm
traveling question lawref Basketball 7 Mon Dec 27, 2004 01:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1