The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2004, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 45
During a loose ball situation, a player goes to 1 knee, picks up the ball, stands up, and begins to dribble. Traveling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2004, 09:04pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally posted by lawref
During a loose ball situation, a player goes to 1 knee, picks up the ball, stands up, and begins to dribble. Traveling?

Yes.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2004, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 156
I've wondered this too . . . what if the order were different. player goes to 1 knee, starts dribble, then stands up?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2004, 10:03pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by bebanovich
I've wondered this too . . . what if the order were different. player goes to 1 knee, starts dribble, then stands up?
That's okey-dokey as long as he was on one knee before he grabbed the ball. If he grabbed the ball while on the floor, then went to one knee, it's a travel at that point.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 159
Any attempt to get up with the ball is travelling. However, a player can dribble while getting up.
__________________
"Seek first to understand, then to be understood."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2004, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: S.E. Iowa
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally posted by bebanovich
I've wondered this too . . . what if the order were different. player goes to 1 knee, starts dribble, then stands up?
A player cannot travel while dribbling.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 27, 2004, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
travel ??

So is that last statement correct ? A player cannot travel while dribbling .....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 27, 2004, 01:11pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Re: travel ??

Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
So is that last statement correct ? A player cannot travel while dribbling .....
Yes, it's correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1