![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
![]()
This happened in my game last night. A1 in backcourt with the ball. He passes to A2 who is facing him, standing on the division line with part of both shoes in the backcourt, part on the line and part in the frontcourt (he had big feet, OK?). A2 catches the ball and, without moving his feet, passes the ball back to A1 who is still in the backcourt.
Is this a violation?
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Preety much what I was getting at. Three points applies to dribbling, but it you catch the ball with both feet in the front court, the third point ( the ball) now has front court status. Still three points.
|
|
|||
Yes, when A2 caught the ball Mark was on 8 of his b/c count & when A1 received the pass back Mark was well past 10 seconds... {tweet} 10 b/c violation.
Last edited by Ch1town; Wed Jan 14, 2009 at 05:40pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
No. Not to digress too much, but now what if Mr. Big Feet catches the pass and starts dribbling parallel to the division line, feet in the forecourt, ball bouncing up and down in the backcourt/on the line? (Almost kind of reminds of the old one: Can you tell me if my turn signal is working? OK -- yes, no, yes, no ...) |
|
|||
Using the 3-point thingy as a guideline is confusing. That rule only applies on a dribble from the bc to the fc, and in no way is applicable to this sitch. The question is, does the ball have fc status or bc status when A2 catches it? Since A2 has bc status, so does the ball. End of discussion.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I was responding to the post that was right before mine. See Amesman's previous post.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Okay, I see. but you responded wrong. If he catches ball with his feet in the fc, and then dribbles in the bc, it's a violation, right? What am I missing?
|
|
|||
Quote:
BUT then player dribbles parallel to division line -- feet in forecourt but ball bouncing in back court. Does he establish himself in forecourt when the ball leaves the backcourt floor on a dribble? Or is he still backcourt until the ball is actually bounced in the forecourt? What if he's dribbling like that and simply picks up his dribble -- still never having had it land in the forecourt -- does that change your answer? |
|
|||
Suppose player catches ball with a foot in BC and begins to dribble. Now the "3-point" part of the rule goes in to effect: he's a dribbler in the BC, so both feet and the ball must be in FC for him to have FC status.
Put the point differently: if a player catches the ball, then the ball has the same status as the player (BC in your question). The ball can gain FC status without a dribble, if, for instance, a player is straddling the line and pivots into the FC (even just picking up the BC foot would do it). If a player with BC status begins to dribble with the ball or either foot in the BC, the ball still has BC status. Keep the 10-second BC count going during all of the action you describe.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Newbies Point of View | schmitty1973 | Football | 14 | Fri Dec 03, 2004 02:06pm |
You make the call..... | heyblue | Softball | 11 | Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:20pm |
Make the call | oppool | Softball | 16 | Wed Jan 09, 2002 09:58pm |
Watch the arrow, very important for newbies. | devdog69 | Basketball | 2 | Mon Jan 07, 2002 01:49pm |
You Make The Call! | ump24 | Baseball | 4 | Fri Feb 23, 2001 05:51pm |