Flagrant Foul Question
Last night in Girls Sophomore game, I had the following situation:
A1 gets a steal and is on a fast break, B1 commits a flagrant foul, two arms extended throwing girl into the wall (not good). My partner is the lead, we both have the foul. After making sure the girl is getting medical attention we huddle and decide that it was a flagrant foul and B1 is ejected.
My question is this: I thought A1 (or designated shooter) only gets 2 FT's, and then A gets the ball at POI. He thought she should get 4 FT's and the ball. Since I am a rookie official and he was the R, we went with 4 FT's and the ball. We received no argument from anyone, but did question it after the game.
The only reference in the rule book that I can find is 10-11-4 which states 2 FT's for an intentional or flagrant foul plus the ball.
Any thoughts?
|