The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Interesting Situation Last Night

I was working a small school GV game. This was my partner's first varsity game. 3 minutes into the game we have a held ball. AP arrow in favor of White. As I'm watching the throw in I noticed Black got the ball and shot at the wrong basket and scored. My partner then blew his whistle because he discovered he erroneously gave black the ball for the throw-in.

In summary, we gave the wrong team the ball, then they shot/scored at the wrong basket. Then play ended when my partner discovered the error. Could I get input on this? I hate to say this, but we ended up giving white the ball and didn't award the points. Both coaches were fine with how it was handled and I took responsibility for it as I should have known to look at it. Other than that my partner did a fine job.

First time something that bizarre has happened to me in 5 years. At least the coaches were fine with how we handled it. I'm pretty sure we got it wrong though
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 12:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
You're right, you were wrong.
Once it's inbounded, it's not correctable. I'd have awarded the points to white and given the ball to black for an endline throwin. No one can really complain with that one.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You're right, you were wrong.
Once it's inbounded, it's not correctable. I'd have awarded the points to white and given the ball to black for an endline throwin. No one can really complain with that one.
I agree

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
I figured I was wrong especially looking at rule 2-10 and that wasn't one of the instances for a correctable error.

Does the AP arrow stay put then?

I KNEW that's what we should have gone with. Always go with your gut instinct. And hope that never happens again! haha
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNref321 View Post
Does the AP arrow stay put then?
Yes. White will get the next AP throw-in -- assuming you administer it correctly
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
When you say him give the ball to Black why didn't you blow your whistle and stop the game?
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNref321 View Post
I figured I was wrong especially looking at rule 2-10 and that wasn't one of the instances for a correctable error.

Does the AP arrow stay put then?

I KNEW that's what we should have gone with. Always go with your gut instinct. And hope that never happens again! haha
MNref321,
Here is the specific reference in the Case Book:
THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE
*7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1' disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends.

We had this discussion in another thread earlier in the week (Not a correctable error, but should it be?). You will see some interesting views in that thread. As you will see, I would like to see this scenario become a CE, but for now, you blundered (BUT, at least you blundered in a way the coaches felt was fair -- just lucky one of the coaches was not also an official).

....and, yes, the arrow stays....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 04:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
2nd year and he's working a varsity game?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
I know it! We didn't even get any guff from the fans as no one knew what to do. I've never had to deal with a correctable error so I learned quickly by getting burned by it.

I agree to that this should be a correctable error. This was our mistake. Even though the team should have known better and not shot at the wrong basket; if we administered the throw-in properly it wouldn't have happened in theory. This was our (referees') fault. We shouldn't punish a team because of our blunder. That was my mindset though... And I had an inkling the rest of the game I knew that wasn't right.

I learned... And now time to move on. I have a big game tonight to prepare for tonight. I will now be even more prepared.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 07:00pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNref321 View Post
I was working a small school GV game. This was my partner's first varsity game. 3 minutes into the game we have a held ball. AP arrow in favor of White. As I'm watching the throw in I noticed Black got the ball and shot at the wrong basket and scored. My partner then blew his whistle because he discovered he erroneously gave black the ball for the throw-in.

In summary, we gave the wrong team the ball, then they shot/scored at the wrong basket. Then play ended when my partner discovered the error. Could I get input on this? I hate to say this, but we ended up giving white the ball and didn't award the points. Both coaches were fine with how it was handled and I took responsibility for it as I should have known to look at it. Other than that my partner did a fine job.

First time something that bizarre has happened to me in 5 years. At least the coaches were fine with how we handled it. I'm pretty sure we got it wrong though

I will add my two cents to the play.

1) Once the throw-in ended it cannot be corrected. That means that Team A will get two of the next three AP throw-ins. Yes, I know what I just said. It means that Team A will retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in situation.

2) I have a question. When the throw-in ended did: a) the teams play as if they were going in the correct direction, b) or did players on Team A just let B2 go in for an uncontested layup because they knew that he was shooting at the wrong basket? If the answer is (a), score two points for Team B, then have the teams go in the correct direction with Team A getting the ball along the endline in Team A's backcourt consistent with a throw-in after Team B's score; but if the answer is (b) score two points for Team A, and give the ball to Team B for a throw-in along the endline in Team B's backcourt consistent with a throw-in after Team A's score.


Now for my story of the day. Many years ago in a boys' H.S. jr. varisty game in Michigan, in the second quarter, H1 was dribbling the ball near Team V's bench. I was L opposite the S/TT. My partner called a foul near the ball. At the time of the foul, he pointed toward Team H's basket. I switched and when the time was right, I gave the ball to H1 for a throw-in, who passed the ball directly to H2 who turned and made a layup. At this point V-HC wanted to know why Team H had gotten the ball for the throw-in after H2 had committed the foul against V2 near the ball. I stopped the game before Team V could inbound the ball and asked my partner what he had? He said that he had a foul on H2 against V2 (this was before the NFHS and NCAA brought back the Team Control Foul penalty we have now and Team V was not in the bonus). I then did the unthinkable. I knew exactly how much time was on the clock when the foul was called. You can all guess what I did next.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I will add my two cents to the play.

... I then did the unthinkable. I knew exactly how much time was on the clock when the foul was called. You can all guess what I did next.

MTD, Sr.
I predict you invoked the elastic clause and removed the 2 pts and awarded the ball to Team V. Additionally, you reset the clock to the exact time with your definitive knowledge.
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 08:56pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by williebfree View Post
I predict you invoked the elastic clause and removed the 2 pts and awarded the ball to Team V. Additionally, you reset the clock to the exact time with your definitive knowledge.

I was a very very very very bad boy.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I will add my two cents to the play.

Now for my story of the day. Many years ago in a boys' H.S. jr. varisty game in Michigan, in the second quarter, H1 was dribbling the ball near Team V's bench. I was L opposite the S/TT. My partner called a foul near the ball. At the time of the foul, he pointed toward Team H's basket. I switched and when the time was right, I gave the ball to H1 for a throw-in, who passed the ball directly to H2 who turned and made a layup. At this point V-HC wanted to know why Team H had gotten the ball for the throw-in after H2 had committed the foul against V2 near the ball. I stopped the game before Team V could inbound the ball and asked my partner what he had? He said that he had a foul on H2 against V2 (this was before the NFHS and NCAA brought back the Team Control Foul penalty we have now and Team V was not in the bonus). I then did the unthinkable. I knew exactly how much time was on the clock when the foul was called. You can all guess what I did next.

MTD, Sr.
Yep, you basically invoked 10.1.8 except for the technical foul and warning part (obviously, this was NOT an unsporting act, but the implementation fits).....
A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT
*10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A' basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put "consumed" time back on the clock.
COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 10-1-5d)

So close to getting it right...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Interesting Friday Night A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 8 Tue Dec 16, 2008 01:59pm
Interesting T Situation last night. Jerry Blum Basketball 24 Thu Jan 19, 2006 05:17pm
Interesting night blindzebra Basketball 0 Wed Jan 18, 2006 01:40am
Interesting Play Last Night IREFU2 Basketball 7 Thu Dec 02, 2004 05:14pm
Interesting situation in Varsity game last night. Jerry Blum Basketball 5 Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1