The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interesting Situation Last Night (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51305-interesting-situation-last-night.html)

MNref321 Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:07pm

Interesting Situation Last Night
 
I was working a small school GV game. This was my partner's first varsity game. 3 minutes into the game we have a held ball. AP arrow in favor of White. As I'm watching the throw in I noticed Black got the ball and shot at the wrong basket and scored. My partner then blew his whistle because he discovered he erroneously gave black the ball for the throw-in.

In summary, we gave the wrong team the ball, then they shot/scored at the wrong basket. Then play ended when my partner discovered the error. Could I get input on this? I hate to say this, but we ended up giving white the ball and didn't award the points. Both coaches were fine with how it was handled and I took responsibility for it as I should have known to look at it. Other than that my partner did a fine job.

First time something that bizarre has happened to me in 5 years. At least the coaches were fine with how we handled it. I'm pretty sure we got it wrong though :)

Adam Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:10pm

You're right, you were wrong. :)
Once it's inbounded, it's not correctable. I'd have awarded the points to white and given the ball to black for an endline throwin. No one can really complain with that one.

jdmara Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 573963)
You're right, you were wrong. :)
Once it's inbounded, it's not correctable. I'd have awarded the points to white and given the ball to black for an endline throwin. No one can really complain with that one.

I agree

-Josh

MNref321 Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:26pm

I figured I was wrong especially looking at rule 2-10 and that wasn't one of the instances for a correctable error.

Does the AP arrow stay put then?

I KNEW that's what we should have gone with. Always go with your gut instinct. :) And hope that never happens again! haha

bob jenkins Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNref321 (Post 573970)
Does the AP arrow stay put then?

Yes. White will get the next AP throw-in -- assuming you administer it correctly ;)

GoodwillRef Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:58pm

When you say him give the ball to Black why didn't you blow your whistle and stop the game?

MNref321 Fri Jan 30, 2009 03:33pm

I didn't even notice. There was some questionable activity going on as they tried to inbound the ball. I took responsibility as I should have verified the proper team had the ball. I blew it. One coach went to my partner to complain but I got her off my partner's back by letting her vent to me. It was his first varsity game and he was jumpy as it was. We are a team out there as well and I shouldn't have let that happen. I wish I caught that though as I normally do.

Adam Fri Jan 30, 2009 03:36pm

Did you talk to him later? How did he mess that up?

MNref321 Fri Jan 30, 2009 04:36pm

This happened in the first half so at halftime we talked about it. He had the jump ball signal. I made eye contact with him and verbalized and pointed that we have white ball. I even saw him point in the proper direction. However, the black team was rather young and didn't catch on and they moved to the designated throw-in spot and he didn't see who he was giving the ball to. I told him I should have made sure as well and helped him out but I was watching some activity during the throw-in. I told him he should try to make sure he sees who he's giving the ball to so this doesn't happen. This was his 2nd year officiating and is rather young. After that he did a fine job and he calmed down in the second half. This was a game I wouldn't want to have as my first. But at the same time you can learn quickly!

CMHCoachNRef Fri Jan 30, 2009 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNref321 (Post 573970)
I figured I was wrong especially looking at rule 2-10 and that wasn't one of the instances for a correctable error.

Does the AP arrow stay put then?

I KNEW that's what we should have gone with. Always go with your gut instinct. :) And hope that never happens again! haha

MNref321,
Here is the specific reference in the Case Book:
THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE
*7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1' disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends.

We had this discussion in another thread earlier in the week (Not a correctable error, but should it be?). You will see some interesting views in that thread. As you will see, I would like to see this scenario become a CE, but for now, you blundered (BUT, at least you blundered in a way the coaches felt was fair -- just lucky one of the coaches was not also an official).

....and, yes, the arrow stays....

Adam Fri Jan 30, 2009 04:48pm

2nd year and he's working a varsity game?

deecee Fri Jan 30, 2009 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 574091)
2nd year and he's working a varsity game?

snaq it happens -- i worked a couple my first year and a few more my second, and then more my third.

There are some varsity games where 2 warm bodies will do, and where they make boys freshman look like a D1 college game.

MNref321 Fri Jan 30, 2009 04:54pm

I know it! We didn't even get any guff from the fans as no one knew what to do. I've never had to deal with a correctable error so I learned quickly by getting burned by it.

I agree to that this should be a correctable error. This was our mistake. Even though the team should have known better and not shot at the wrong basket; if we administered the throw-in properly it wouldn't have happened in theory. This was our (referees') fault. We shouldn't punish a team because of our blunder. That was my mindset though... And I had an inkling the rest of the game I knew that wasn't right.

I learned... And now time to move on. I have a big game tonight to prepare for tonight. I will now be even more prepared. :)

MNref321 Fri Jan 30, 2009 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 574091)
2nd year and he's working a varsity game?

He worked this game because the partner I was supposed to have suffered heart attack 2 weeks ago and had emergency quadrupedal bypass surgery. 45 and in good shape. He is ok though!

Adam Fri Jan 30, 2009 04:59pm

Good to hear he's ok.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1