The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Well philosophically, that makes sense, but in practice, I'm afraid it would just be a huge mess.

I mean, you've got refs out there that can't even keep the rules straight about who gets possession at the beginning of eACH quarter, and you expect them to think this one through properly?

And it's philosophically different from all the other CE's, so it's one more "exception" to try to remember. I agree with your theory, but I think it would just be too much of a strain to put it into practice this way.
Juulie,
The ONLY thing that I am attempting to do is EXTEND THE TIME we can FIX an OFFICIAL'S OBVIOUS MISTAKE when awarding a throw-in. Currently, we can already FIX the MISTAKE UNTIL the throw-in ends. I am merely extending the time.

The problem is not an inablity to "keep the rules straight about who gets possession at the beginning of each quarter", it is a simple MISTAKE that officials make on a fairly regular basis.

The error can ONLY be corrected until a change in possession or the ball becomes dead (i.e. If the correction has not been made before the ball becomes dead or a change in possession, the error is ignored).

This means that if you did not stop play BEFORE a basket, a foul or a violation, the error is ignored. I understand that this will not correct all of these Wrong-Team-Throw-ins, BUT it would likely catch about 80-90% or more. I know more than one official who has made a correction to match my proposed rules already.

Typically, I have seen coaches VERY upset when the mistake is NOT corrected. Similarly, I have yet to see a coach argue "Hey, you can't correct that, the throw-in has already ended."

What do you do if a PLAYER makes this mistake (i.e. A1 makes a Free Throw and A2 then grabs the ball and inbounds the ball)? If A2 is able to get to the ball quickly enough and inbound to A1, are you going to allow the play to continue if A1 touches the inbound pass before you blow the whistle?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
The problem is not an inablity to "keep the rules straight about who gets possession at the beginning of each quarter", it is a simple MISTAKE that officials make on a fairly regular basis.
A fairly regular basis? I'm in my 7th year of officiating and can't recall every having made this error. Less than a half-dozen times have I disagreed with the way the arrow was pointing on the table, and we fixed those.

I agree with those who state "simple is better," and for the one or two times this ever happens to you, you simply shrug and go on...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
A fairly regular basis? I'm in my 7th year of officiating and can't recall every having made this error. Less than a half-dozen times have I disagreed with the way the arrow was pointing on the table, and we fixed those.

I agree with those who state "simple is better," and for the one or two times this ever happens to you, you simply shrug and go on...
jdw,
I have seen it many times over my 30+ years of coaching and officiating (and playing). How many times? If you have had fewer than one mistaken error per YEAR for the past seven years, you are quite blessed. Outside of varsity games, I frequently have to keep track of the possession arrow myself.

How often have I seen the wrong team inbounding the ball? Well, I can comfortably say far, far more often than I have seen a Correctable Error Procedure employed. But, the point should not be that it doesn't happen very often, so let's not worry about it. It should be that it does happen every once in a great while (for you), and we can easily have a rule in place that allows us to fix the error.

Look at some of the cases in the case book. Think those all happen on a regular basis? Once again, they are there because they happened at least once and the NFHS wants the play called fairly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Juulie,
What do you do if a PLAYER makes this mistake (i.e. A1 makes a Free Throw and A2 then grabs the ball and inbounds the ball)? If A2 is able to get to the ball quickly enough and inbound to A1, are you going to allow the play to continue if A1 touches the inbound pass before you blow the whistle?
I'm going to apply the case in 10.something called "A specific unsporting act" (or something like that).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'm going to apply the case in 10.something called "A specific unsporting act" (or something like that).
Bob,
As usual, spot-on: 10.1.8.
A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT
*10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1
inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put "consumed" time back on the clock.
COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 10-1-5d)

This situation basically wipes out the MISTAKE by Team A if there is no doubt that the throw-in was the result of confusion. In this case, even if the situation is not recognized until after the fact: cancel the field goal, cancel non-flagrant fouls, AND put time back on the clock.

To be consistent, it may be wise to modify the rule to be the same for an official's mistake as it is for a player's mistake. Since we already have to know this rule, it would seem that it would be easier for us to know that for any throw-in, if the wrong team takes it -- regardless who made the mistake -- we can fix it.

Last edited by CMHCoachNRef; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 05:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Juulie,
The ONLY thing that I am attempting to do is EXTEND THE TIME we can FIX an OFFICIAL'S OBVIOUS MISTAKE when awarding a throw-in. Currently, we can already FIX the MISTAKE UNTIL the throw-in ends. I am merely extending the time.
I understand exactly what you're trying to do, and I agree it would be nice. I wish we could do that, too. I'm just disagreeing with how you want to do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
The problem is not an inablity to "keep the rules straight about who gets possession at the beginning of each quarter", it is a simple MISTAKE that officials make on a fairly regular basis.
Actually, I've only done it twice in 10 years, and I'm sure there are refs who've worked 25 years without ever making this mistake. It's a simple mistake, and also very, very easy to avoid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
The error can ONLY be corrected until a change in possession or the ball becomes dead (i.e. If the correction has not been made before the ball becomes dead or a change in possession, the error is ignored).

This means that if you did not stop play BEFORE a basket, a foul or a violation, the error is ignored.
I understand what you're trying to say here, but trying to define it in the book in a way that could be consistently put into practice, and that would make sense to everyone would be nearly impossible, I think. I just think that however reasonable you and I are, others may not be quite so capable

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
I understand that this will not correct all of these Wrong-Team-Throw-ins, BUT it would likely catch about 80-90% or more. I know more than one official who has made a correction to match my proposed rules already.
Well, he can keep making that correction, or he can plan to move up and get better. I recommend he work to avoid the problem instead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error? budjones05 Basketball 24 Fri Dec 12, 2008 09:17pm
Correctable Error hbioteach Basketball 2 Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:03am
Correctable Error johnnyrao Basketball 2 Sat Dec 04, 2004 09:24am
Correctable Error? Stat-Man Basketball 7 Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:12am
correctable error cloverdale Basketball 12 Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1