![]() |
|
|||
NOT a Correctable Error, BUT should it be???
I have seen several circumstances over the past several years in which either the arrow was wrong or the official simply made a mistake on a throw-in by giving the ball to the wrong team.
Case 7.5.2A indicates that the error cannot be corrected once the throw-in ends: THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE *7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1' disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends. Yes, we all know that better communication with our partners should prevent this from happening, but I have seen it happen. Fortunately, we have always caught it BEFORE the throw-in has ended in our games, but I have seen it in other games. My question is, why hasn't the NFHS extended the time of correction from the time the throw-in ends to any time during the wrongly awarded possession? The officiating crew can make the mistake -- AND FIX IT -- up until the throw-in ends. It would seem to me that giving the officials that extra time would eliminate a good percentage of these errors. Thoughts??? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correctable Error? | budjones05 | Basketball | 24 | Fri Dec 12, 2008 09:17pm |
Correctable Error | hbioteach | Basketball | 2 | Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:03am |
Correctable Error | johnnyrao | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 04, 2004 09:24am |
Correctable Error? | Stat-Man | Basketball | 7 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:12am |
correctable error | cloverdale | Basketball | 12 | Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:19am |