The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
So if spot is where C was opposite table

C reports table side, slides down to C table side
Trail inbounds at spot
Lead slides over to ball side
Actually this isn't right.

C reports table side, then 'goes back' and slides down to L. L stays tableside and slides up to C. Think about what you'd do if instead of a foul, A is bringing the ball up and B knocks it out of bounds on C's sideline. In that case, T comes over to administer, C slides down to L, L slides up to T.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 02:01pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Actually this isn't right.

C reports table side, then 'goes back' and slides down to L. L stays table side and slides up to C. Think about what you'd do if instead of a foul, A is bringing the ball up and B knocks it out of bounds on C's sideline. In that case, T comes over to administer, C slides down to L, L slides up to T.
In other words treat it like a violation, with the new trail administering all throw ins in the back court.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orion, MI
Posts: 152
I just want to make sure I've got switching right in my head...first varsity game of the season tonight and second season doing varsity.

Calling official always remains tableside after reporting, correct?

Foul called in backcourt, no switch.

Everyone else rotates to fill in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142 View Post
Calling official always remains tableside after reporting, correct?
Except for the situation we're talking about in this thread - there is no switch on a foul called in the backcourt going to the frontcourt when no free throws are involved. In this situation the calling official (regardless of where he is) "goes back" to his position, though that position may then change based on where the throw-in is to be administered.

Calling official stays tableside on all fouls called in frontcourt, and on all fouls resulting in FTs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Except for the situation we're talking about in this thread - there is no switch on a foul called in the backcourt going to the frontcourt when no free throws are involved. In this situation the calling official (regardless of where he is) "goes back" to his position, though that position may then change based on where the throw-in is to be administered.

Calling official stays tableside on all fouls called in frontcourt, and on all fouls resulting in FTs.
I'm getting a headache...........
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
I'm getting a headache...........
fullor, you got it above.

It's really not that complicated if it's just broken down into two separate acts:

First, the foul (in the backcourt) is called and reported. The calling official returns to his position (whether T, C, or L).

Then if needed, the officials move to new positions based on the location of the throw-in the same as if a violation had occurred.

In reality you won't do this two-step process, but if you think about it this way you should be able to determine where you (and the other two officials) should go.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Actually this isn't right.

C reports table side, then 'goes back' and slides down to L. L stays tableside and slides up to C. Think about what you'd do if instead of a foul, A is bringing the ball up and B knocks it out of bounds on C's sideline. In that case, T comes over to administer, C slides down to L, L slides up to T.

Finally kicked in..............got it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I Switch? PIAA REF Basketball 27 Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:38pm
Switch-Hitter vs Switch-Pitcher Jurassic Referee Baseball 39 Thu Jul 03, 2008 01:06pm
2 man OOB switch OldCoachNewRef Basketball 14 Thu Jan 20, 2005 08:53pm
New NCAA mechanics - Long switch or no long switch? jimcrket Basketball 5 Mon Oct 15, 2001 01:40pm
The switch Rookie Basketball 15 Sun Sep 02, 2001 08:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1