This one came up in a minor league game last night between the Staten Island Yankees and the Brooklyn Cyclones. Ninth inning-- with a switch-hitter up. Pitching is a player who throws from either side also, depending on the batter's location. The problem was that neither player would commit to a side for the first pitch. They both kept fandangoing back and forth. Apparently, and I sureashell don't know, the rules say that both the pitcher and hitter can switch one time after committing to a side. The problem seemed to be that the rules don't state who has to commit first- the pitcher or batter. Soooooo, both players kept switching as soon as the other one moved. The decision finally made by the umpires(before global warming put the ballpark underwater) was that the batter had to commit first.
Thoughts?
http://www.nypost.com/seven/06202008...ion_116313.htm