The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Why did the ref blow the whistle and why was it a good call? If the ball was reasonably accessible, the ref should have just started the chop.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 06:31pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
Why did the ref blow the whistle and why was it a good call? If the ball was reasonably accessible, the ref should have just started the chop.
I agree...I don't see any reason for the official to stop the clock. If team B takes 5 seconds, that leaves 3 for Team A to attempt a 3-pointer at the end. I don't find a rules justification for the officials' actions here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
I agree...I don't see any reason for the official to stop the clock. If team B takes 5 seconds, that leaves 3 for Team A to attempt a 3-pointer at the end. I don't find a rules justification for the officials' actions here.
How do you get 3 seconds left. If the basket is made with 8 seconds left and team B knows the rules and are in no rush, then the ball isnt necessecerily at B's displosal right away. This could very well be the end of the game. Team B has no obligation to speed up how they play (within reason disclaimer of course) simply because team A is down.

from a made basket to a 5 second violation could very well take 10 seconds in some instances. For the most part it will fall in the 7-8 second variety.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
Why did the ref blow the whistle and why was it a good call? If the ball was reasonably accessible, the ref should have just started the chop.
The ball being "reasonably accessible" I assume is a judgement call. There was no wall and stands behind basket so somehow the ball got knocked about 15-20 feet away behind the basket. Is that "reasonably accessible"? Probably depends on who you ask.

If it was a middle of the game scenario, unless team B ran after the ball and ran back with it, I think the ref would have stopped the clock. So, I think it's a good call at this point in the game, too.

I know if I was team B and I was actually attempting to inbound it, I don't think it would be fair for the count to already be on three, by the time I got the ball and returned to the baseline to inbound.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
The ball being "reasonably accessible" I assume is a judgement call. There was no wall and stands behind basket so somehow the ball got knocked about 15-20 feet away behind the basket. Is that "reasonably accessible"? Probably depends on who you ask.

If it was a middle of the game scenario, unless team B ran after the ball and ran back with it, I think the ref would have stopped the clock. So, I think it's a good call at this point in the game, too.

I know if I was team B and I was actually attempting to inbound it, I don't think it would be fair for the count to already be on three, by the time I got the ball and returned to the baseline to inbound.
This is a HTBT type of situation. If the ball had bounded far away from the court, the official can and should stop the clock. Once he does that, he is obligated to allow the substitution. If the ball has not bounded away by a good distance, the official should start the count when the inbounder gets to the ball. If the inbounder is taking a drunken-sailor path to the ball, I will likely stop the clock in this situation since I cannot reasonably start a count since the ball is not at his disposal (let's say the ball is 10 feet from him and he takes a 30 foot path to the ball).

I will allow the offense some leeway here in getting to the ball. On the other hand, taking an extra five to seven seconds to get to the ball is not something that is fair to the opponent or to the game.

Of course, this is yet one more reason why it is sooooooo important to keep your time outs near the end of the game. If team B has a time out left, they will undoubtedly use it here leaving themselves with a full eight seconds to make something good happen.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
This is a HTBT type of situation. If the ball had bounded far away from the court, the official can and should stop the clock. Once he does that, he is obligated to allow the substitution. If the ball has not bounded away by a good distance, the official should start the count when the inbounder gets to the ball. If the inbounder is taking a drunken-sailor path to the ball, I will likely stop the clock in this situation since I cannot reasonably start a count since the ball is not at his disposal (let's say the ball is 10 feet from him and he takes a 30 foot path to the ball).

I will allow the offense some leeway here in getting to the ball. On the other hand, taking an extra five to seven seconds to get to the ball is not something that is fair to the opponent or to the game.

Of course, this is yet one more reason why it is sooooooo important to keep your time outs near the end of the game. If team B has a time out left, they will undoubtedly use it here leaving themselves with a full eight seconds to make something good happen.
This really comes down to what your definition of "at disposal" means doesn't it? "At disposal" is defined as being "available after a goal". If a ball is ten feet from a player and I judge it is reasonable that it should take 3 seconds for him to cover 10 feet and he is taking 7 seconds, can't I judge that even though he doesn't have the ball,it is still available to him after 3 seconds? I'm thinking that rather than stopping the clock (unless it bounced far away - another judgement), I would give a reasonable time to get to the ball and then start the count....I actually love the idea of stopping the clock b/c you are punishing a team that is not playing within the spirit of the rules, but by the letter of the rule I feel more comfortable just starting my count....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
If the ball has not bounded away by a good distance, the official should start the count when the inbounder gets to the ball. If the inbounder is taking a drunken-sailor path to the ball, I will likely stop the clock in this situation since I cannot reasonably start a count since the ball is not at his disposal (let's say the ball is 10 feet from him and he takes a 30 foot path to the ball).
This is an incorrect way to view 'at the player's disposal.' The team gets a reasonable amount of time to get to the ball.

In your scenario, if the ball is 10 feet away, the player gets "10 feet" of time to get to the ball. If he takes a 30 foot path, the 5-second count begins after he's gone 10 feet, even though he's not at the ball.

Just because a player hasn't grabbed the ball doesn't mean it's not at his disposal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 08:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Things That Make You Go Hmmm ??? (Arsenio Hall)

Girls varsity game a few nights ago. After a breakaway made field goal by B1, the ball rolls toward the foul line, and stops there. A1, by herself in her new backcourt, picks up the ball walks, not runs, but not walking very slowly to delay either, down the lane toward the boundary line to make a throwin. I'm the new trail, and this "makes me go hummm?". When is the ball at her disposal?

1) When she picks it up at the foul line, which means that I'm starting my five second count, and may get to one second, or so, before she's even out of bounds, while I'm ignoring a timeout request from Team B head coach?

2) When she gets out of bounds with the ball, at which point I'm starting my five second count, but if Team B head coach had requested a time out during the time A1 had the ball in bounds, I would have granted it, which would have appeared awkward?

No problem in the game. She just got out of bounds and made the throwin right away, with no time out requests, but it was, like I said, one of "things that make you go hummm?".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I would start once out of bounds in your scenario.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2009, 09:29am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Here's a query:

Made basket by A in transition. B1 and B2 are setting up about the FT line extended waiting for B3 to come from the BC to make the throwin. Do you wait for B3 to come all the way, or do you start early?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
In response to BillyMac's scenario, my philosophy is that the ball is at the player's disposal when a member of that team could possess it and get outside the boundary in a reasonable manner. That doesn't mean they have to sprint, or even run, but they also can't delay.

If they do walk slowly, or otherwise delay, I'll make a judgment on when they should have reached the boundary and start my count then.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1 to A2 OOB after B made basket RSmith Basketball 4 Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:30am
Time out after made basket Idaho Basketball 2 Mon Oct 29, 2007 08:05pm
OOB after made basket dknick78 Basketball 24 Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:15am
Made basket ttownterp Basketball 2 Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:36pm
After made basket...Can you dribble while.... sdubb Basketball 2 Mon Jan 12, 2004 10:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1