The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2009, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
from my original sit: when A1 hits the floor, in control of the ball, are you saying "play on"? you can't be calling a traveling violation, could you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2009, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray View Post
from my original sit: when A1 hits the floor, in control of the ball, are you saying "play on"? you can't be calling a traveling violation, could you?
I wasn't going beyond the contact, but if A1 trips, controls/holds the ball and goes to the floor then yes I have a travel...how could you have nothing there? What if A1 goes down the lane, brushes the shoulder of B1 who is standing still in the lane (you judge to be no foul either way) and as a result of the contact loses his balance and takes three steps with the ball? What do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2009, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
if B1 is laying on the floor, right behind and out of the field of vision of A1, and non-incidental contact (A1 falling to the floor) occurs, that's a blocking foul on B1(caused by an illegal screen if you will)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2009, 03:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray View Post
if B1 is laying on the floor, right behind and out of the field of vision of A1, and non-incidental contact (A1 falling to the floor) occurs, that's a blocking foul on B1(caused by an illegal screen if you will)
Not if A1 has the ball. If A1 has the ball, time and distance are not required.

If A1 does not have the ball, time and distance could be a factor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2009, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not if A1 has the ball. If A1 has the ball, time and distance are not required.

If A1 does not have the ball, time and distance could be a factor.
Upon further review I agree compltely. He could fall at his feet and you are right you don't apply the screening principles to a player with the ball....I just had a hard time in my head penalizing A1 for something completely out of his visual field, but that's the way it goes....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 17, 2009, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray View Post
if B1 is laying on the floor, right behind and out of the field of vision of A1, and non-incidental contact (A1 falling to the floor) occurs, that's a blocking foul on B1(caused by an illegal screen if you will)

Case 10.6.1E, last in the 2004-05 case book (typos are mine):B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. b1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts' B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effrot to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

That should clear up how the FED *wanted* the play called. Open for discussion, of course, is the unresolved "are case plays that are no longer published still valid?"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 17, 2009, 02:52pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,331
Great Citation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Case 10.6.1E, 2004-05 Case Book: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts' B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.
Thanks. I only thought Nevadaref pulled up interpretations from many years ago. You also saved Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. a trip up to his very, very cold attic.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 17, 2009 at 03:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2009, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Case 10.6.1E, last in the 2004-05 case book (typos are mine):B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. b1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts' B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effrot to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

That should clear up how the FED *wanted* the play called. Open for discussion, of course, is the unresolved "are case plays that are no longer published still valid?"
thanks for citing this...what if A1 had not lost control of the ball when he/she fell to the floor....the caseplay cited would seem to imply that a travel call would be the correct call at that point....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2009, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray View Post
thanks for citing this...what if A1 had not lost control of the ball when he/she fell to the floor....the caseplay cited would seem to imply that a travel call would be the correct call at that point....
All that's important is that if a player goes to the ground while maintaining player control, it is a travel if there is not a foul or other violation first.

In this case, yes, absolutely, it's a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2009, 04:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray View Post
from my original sit: when A1 hits the floor, in control of the ball, are you saying "play on"? you can't be calling a traveling violation, could you?
Yes, you can. You can't ignore the violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach walks off floor....with players NYBLUE Basketball 29 Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:36pm
Players on floor yelling during foul shot attempt spacecoast Basketball 8 Thu Mar 15, 2007 08:49am
players on the floor-held ball situation ChrisSportsFan Basketball 8 Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:39pm
4 players on the floor???? sdubb Basketball 41 Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:14pm
6 players on floor---do points stand? mrsref Basketball 2 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1