The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 18, 2000, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 12
Question

After a timeout, Team A to inbound the ball in the frontcourt on the sideline. Team B coach counts six A players on the floor, but before he can get the officials' attention, A1 inbounds to A2 who goes uncontested to the basket for a lay-up. Officials then get their act together and count six A's, and assess the technical foul. Is there any provision in the rules to wipe out the two points that were just scored by Team A?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 18, 2000, 01:43am
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 171
Send a message via AIM to Bradley Batt
Post

The officials are correct in this instance. The only times that you can disallow a basket is for goaltending, basket interference, correctable error, or "a specific unsportsmanlike act" - a case in the case book which involves the wrong team taking the ball OOB after a free throw.

Count the basket and assess the technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 18, 2000, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 124
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Bradley Batt on 01-18-2000 12:43 PM
Count the basket and assess the technical foul.


And apologize to the coach for not catching it in the first place...

------------------
Brian Johnson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1