The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   First for Me (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50941-first-me.html)

PIAA REF Wed Jan 14, 2009 10:05am

First for Me
 
Good Morning everyone. Well had a good game last night. I was looking forward to it. Big Schools, Boys Varsity. Good Crowd. Early second quarter I am trail there is a drive from my primary then a quick kickto the wing. On the quick kick (Centers' Primary) There is now a quick shot. The shooter tried to step back for a three but was a foot inside the arch. The only reason I had my eyes over there was because of the drive from my primary. Anyway. Shot goes in. C signals 3. I blow my whistle and signal 2. No complaint from anyone. Shooter doesn't do/say anything, and neither does the coach (who usually complains a lot). At the half the official that I corrected was peeved that I corrected him. He thought he was right. I told him I knew I was right. He is a vet who is a little weak and doesn't like to be told when he does wrong (which is quite often).

Raymond Wed Jan 14, 2009 10:50am

What did your crew pre-game about handling that situation?

jdmara Wed Jan 14, 2009 10:52am

If it wasn't pre-gamed I would have probably blew the whistle, huddled with the calling official, and then let him change it if he wished.

-Josh

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 568358)
If it wasn't pre-gamed I would have probably blew the whistle, huddled with the calling official, and then let him change it if he wished.

-Josh

I agree -- no sense in arguing with a partner on the court and just changing his call like this undermines the crew.

If there is ever any question or concern get with your partner and have him change the call. If he persists that he is right let it go and move on. If it were really egrigeous (sp?) you can write your assignor after the game explaining what happened but man up and let your partner know that you will be reporting his screw up.

TheOracle Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 568338)
Good Morning everyone. Well had a good game last night. I was looking forward to it. Big Schools, Boys Varsity. Good Crowd. Early second quarter I am trail there is a drive from my primary then a quick kickto the wing. On the quick kick (Centers' Primary) There is now a quick shot. The shooter tried to step back for a three but was a foot inside the arch. The only reason I had my eyes over there was because of the drive from my primary. Anyway. Shot goes in. C signals 3. I blow my whistle and signal 2. No complaint from anyone. Shooter doesn't do/say anything, and neither does the coach (who usually complains a lot). At the half the official that I corrected was peeved that I corrected him. He thought he was right. I told him I knew I was right. He is a vet who is a little weak and doesn't like to be told when he does wrong (which is quite often).

You did the right thing. Whether you were looking in the right place or not is not the issue, because you weren't. But you made a wrong call right. The film will show that. Good job.

ranjo Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:53pm

From the NFHS Rule Book: 2-6 No official has the authority to set aside or question decisions make by the other official(s) within the limits of their respective outlined duties.

From the NFHS Officials Manual: 3.5.4 B1 - Crew communication during the contest is essential to a well-officiated game. 3.5.4 B2 - "Help" situations occur when officials either ask for or are offered assistance from their partners. These situations often occur on out-of-bounds plays and/or tipped-ball situations, the timing of a try/tap, and others. These situations should be discussed throughly during the crew's pregame conference.

Rich Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 568338)
Good Morning everyone. Well had a good game last night. I was looking forward to it. Big Schools, Boys Varsity. Good Crowd. Early second quarter I am trail there is a drive from my primary then a quick kickto the wing. On the quick kick (Centers' Primary) There is now a quick shot. The shooter tried to step back for a three but was a foot inside the arch. The only reason I had my eyes over there was because of the drive from my primary. Anyway. Shot goes in. C signals 3. I blow my whistle and signal 2. No complaint from anyone. Shooter doesn't do/say anything, and neither does the coach (who usually complains a lot). At the half the official that I corrected was peeved that I corrected him. He thought he was right. I told him I knew I was right. He is a vet who is a little weak and doesn't like to be told when he does wrong (which is quite often).

Who had the crash on the quick kick (not saying there was one - it's definitely a situation where a pass/crash could happen)?

Zoochy Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:07pm

This play falls under 'Correctable Error'.
I would sound my whistle and briefly discuss the play with 'C' official. He is the one who corrects the call. Once the discussion is completed, then he will inform the coaches and table of the decission.

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 568428)
This play falls under 'Correctable Error'.
I would sound my whistle and briefly discuss the play with 'C' official. He is the one who corrects the call. Once the discussion is completed, then he will inform the coaches and table of the decission.

Are you saying a 2 counted as a 3 can't be fixed after 2 live ball?

bob jenkins Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 568429)
Are you saying a 2 counted as a 3 can't be fixed after 2 live ball?

If the official signals 2 (or 3) and the book writes it down as such, then this is a CE and must be fixed within the time-frame.

If the official signals a 2 (or 3) and the book writes it down as a 3 (or 2), then this is a scorekeeping error and can be fixed at any time.

Some mechanics have the "2 to a 3 or 3 to a 2" correction be done immediately by the off official with no discussion. Blow the whistle, inform the table (and everyone else) of the change, get the ball back in play.

Some mechanics have the discussion.

It's been argued passionately on this board several times. Most of us should just do what ever is common in our locations / leagues.

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 568438)
If the official signals a 2 (or 3) and the book writes it down as a 3 (or 2), then this is a scorekeeping error and can be fixed at any time.

Thanks!

OHBBREF Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 568428)
This play falls under 'Correctable Error'.
I would sound my whistle and briefly discuss the play with 'C' official. He is the one who corrects the call. Once the discussion is completed, then he will inform the coaches and table of the decission.

tell us which one of the five errors this would fall under please?

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:34pm

(e)

OHBBREF Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 568447)
(e)

You counted the score.

Your implication of this being a correctable error would put a time limit on when this could be corrected.

The book says that you may correct a scoring or book keeping mistake anytime before the referee aproves the final score.

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 01:54pm

That's what I thought too.

Always listen to bob (see post 10).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1