The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 09:29am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Mick,
This play is no different than case 9.9.1 D. The player has front court status when he jumps into the air to catch the ball. When he catches the ball, he still has front court status (and team control). As soon as he lands in the back court, he has committed a violation, correct? If not, how is this situation different from 9.9.1 D?
In 9.9.1D, team control is implied by the phrase * A1's pass *.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
In 9.9.1D, team control is implied by the phrase * A1's pass *.
In this OP case, team control is established with A2' catch.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 03:08pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
In 9.9.1D, team control is implied by the phrase * A1's pass *.

Mick:

Team Control is not implied in the Casebook Play 9.9.1, Situation D; the key to the ruling is that the Throw-in ended when the ball was touched by B1 thereby ending the throw-in and ending the exception to the Backcourt Violation Rule.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
In 9.9.1D, team control is implied by the phrase * A1's pass *.
Actually, 9.9.1D describes a throw-in -- therefore, there is no team control.

If the OP were modified to indicate that A1 tapped the ball and B2 recovered in his front court (establishing team control) and passed the ball in the direction of A2; while standing with both feet in Team A's front court (Team B's back court), A2 jumped in the air, caught the ball and landed in Team A's backcourt, this would not be a violation. Per 9.9.3 a defensive player is given the opportunity for the same exception as the player on the throw-in or jump ball situation.

The only reason I say that team control COULD be relevant would be in the situation involving the defensive player exception. Unless the OPPONENT has team control, a player cannot be considered a defensive player eligible for the Rule 9.3.3 exception regarding a back court violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Would the defensive provision apply to a steal at division line while he is in the air from his front court to back court? Does that make sence?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
Would the defensive provision apply to a steal at division line while he is in the air from his front court to back court? Does that make sence?

Yes -- that's exactly when it applies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JrHigh Girls game - Backcourt violation mick Basketball 26 Sun Oct 19, 2008 02:10pm
backcourt violation bbcowboy Basketball 8 Tue May 09, 2006 07:25am
Backcourt violation? VaLadyRef Basketball 11 Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:36pm
Backcourt violation? mplagrow Basketball 3 Sat Jan 25, 2003 05:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1