The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Another twist. If a1, while in the air from the front court, catches and then passes to a2 in the backcourt this also is a violation. So much to think about!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atl
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to jevaque
But wouldn't team control have to be established first in the front court for it to be a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 02:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevaque View Post
But wouldn't team control have to be established first in the front court for it to be a violation.
This accomplished once A2 catches the ball since A2 had FC status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atl
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to jevaque
I understand that, but team control isn't established when the ball is tipped by B2, so when A2 catches the ball in the air thats when team control is established so landing in the BC should be fine since team A never had team control in the FC because he caught it in the air before team control was estab.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevaque View Post
I understand that, but team control isn't established when the ball is tipped by B2, so when A2 catches the ball in the air thats when team control is established so landing in the BC should be fine since team A never had team control in the FC because he caught it in the air before team control was estab.
When A2 catches the ball, PC and TC are established. A2 is in the FC. Thus, there's TC in the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atl
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to jevaque
Ok, I know the rule is correct, but I guess its not making sense.
Since A2 is in the air when TC and PC is established and TC was never established before that even with the tip by B1 I dont see how this could be BC.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 03:16pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Location, location, location

A's last established location was FC before jumping. Therfore when the ball is caught the FC staus is achieved. Now refer to Bob's post.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevaque View Post
Ok, I know the rule is correct, but I guess its not making sense.
Since A2 is in the air when TC and PC is established and TC was never established before that even with the tip by B1 I dont see how this could be BC.
There is an exception to the backcourt violation, 9-9-3, that states a player can jump from the frontcourt, catch the throw-in in the air, and land in the backcourt without commiting the violation. Otherwise, as Bob mentioned, A2's status is the FC (because that was their last position), and there would be team control (on the catch). Last season, the Fed. came out with an interp that stated once a player tips the throw-in, the throw-in has ended. Therefore, the throw-in exception I mentioned (9-9-3) does not apply, and A2 has committed a violation.

This is where the confusion lies for many officials. Exactly the same play, except for the (seemingly) minor addition of the tip by the defender.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 03:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevaque View Post
Ok, I know the rule is correct, but I guess its not making sense.
Since A2 is in the air when TC and PC is established and TC was never established before that even with the tip by B1 I dont see how this could be BC.
As bob said.

There's no requirement to establish TC "before" you establish FC status; nor is there a requirement for the opposite order.

Once A2 catches this ball in the air, TC has been established in the FC. A long time ago, it used to be listed as an exception to the rule, but now it's an exception within the rule (more of a structural difference). The exception only applies to defensive players, jump balls, and throwins. Honestly, I can understand defensive players and jump balls (the team doesn't really have control of the ball), but can't understand the throwin.

A few years ago, there was a big discussion here about whether the exception applied to all situations in which there was no team control (in which case both situations in the OP would be legal) or only to the very specific examples given in the rule (during throwin, jump ball, and for defensive player). NFHS helped us out with the case play.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
Another twist. If a1, while in the air from the front court, catches and then passes to a2 in the backcourt this also is a violation. So much to think about!
Any case play on this?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2009, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atl
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to jevaque
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
Any case play on this?

None needed.

The exception part of the rule (I think it's article 3) says (paraphrasing) "A PLAYER ...may catch the ball and land in the BC". There's nothing about passing the ball, or the restrictions not applying until someone touching the court controls the ball, ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
TO before throw-in violation? Ray_from_Mi Basketball 35 Thu Dec 28, 2006 03:03pm
Throw-In Violation Jurassic Referee Basketball 49 Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:49am
Throw in violation or not ? prohawg Basketball 10 Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:25am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1