The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-In BC Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50784-throw-bc-violation.html)

shishstripes Thu Jan 08, 2009 01:25pm

Throw-In BC Violation
 
I am trying to understand the situation where A1 is the thrower during a spot throw-in near the division line. B1 touches the ball and A2 jumps from FC, catches the ball, and lands in BC. BC violation. But if B1 does not touch it, A2 is fine.

When B1 touches the ball throw-in ends so A2's location is FC where he took off last. However if B1 does not touch, throw-in ends when A2 catches it (in the air) and location is not established until A2 lands?

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 566183)
I am trying to understand the situation where A1 is the thrower during a spot throw-in near the division line. B1 touches the ball and A2 jumps from FC, catches the ball, and lands in BC. BC violation. But if B1 does not touch it, A2 is fine.

When B1 touches the ball throw-in ends so A2's location is FC where he took off last. However if B1 does not touch, throw-in ends when A2 catches it (in the air) and location is not established until A2 lands?

You seem to understand it. I'm not a fan of it, but I understand it.

dbking Thu Jan 08, 2009 01:31pm

It may be cold in Ak but you have the rule correct. It is a coach ballistic rule. I have never seen it happen, good thing!

shishstripes Thu Jan 08, 2009 01:37pm

Thank you for confirming for me. It is a balmy -8 here on the NW coast but a chilly -44 in Fairbanks.

AKOFL Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:09pm

Another twist. If a1, while in the air from the front court, catches and then passes to a2 in the backcourt this also is a violation. So much to think about!:)

bob jenkins Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 566183)
I am trying to understand the situation where A1 is the thrower during a spot throw-in near the division line. B1 touches the ball and A2 jumps from FC, catches the ball, and lands in BC. BC violation. But if B1 does not touch it, A2 is fine.

When B1 touches the ball throw-in ends so A2's location is FC where he took off last. However if B1 does not touch, throw-in ends when A2 catches it (in the air) and location is not established until A2 lands?

"Location" is established in either case. The second, though, isn't a violation because of a specific exception in the rules.

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:32pm

But wouldn't team control have to be established first in the front court for it to be a violation.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566212)
But wouldn't team control have to be established first in the front court for it to be a violation.

This accomplished once A2 catches the ball since A2 had FC status.

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:38pm

I understand that, but team control isn't established when the ball is tipped by B2, so when A2 catches the ball in the air thats when team control is established so landing in the BC should be fine since team A never had team control in the FC because he caught it in the air before team control was estab.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566220)
I understand that, but team control isn't established when the ball is tipped by B2, so when A2 catches the ball in the air thats when team control is established so landing in the BC should be fine since team A never had team control in the FC because he caught it in the air before team control was estab.

When A2 catches the ball, PC and TC are established. A2 is in the FC. Thus, there's TC in the FC.

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:51pm

Ok, I know the rule is correct, but I guess its not making sense.
Since A2 is in the air when TC and PC is established and TC was never established before that even with the tip by B1 I dont see how this could be BC.

SmokeEater Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:16pm

Location, location, location
 
A's last established location was FC before jumping. Therfore when the ball is caught the FC staus is achieved. Now refer to Bob's post.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566225)
Ok, I know the rule is correct, but I guess its not making sense.
Since A2 is in the air when TC and PC is established and TC was never established before that even with the tip by B1 I dont see how this could be BC.

There is an exception to the backcourt violation, 9-9-3, that states a player can jump from the frontcourt, catch the throw-in in the air, and land in the backcourt without commiting the violation. Otherwise, as Bob mentioned, A2's status is the FC (because that was their last position), and there would be team control (on the catch). Last season, the Fed. came out with an interp that stated once a player tips the throw-in, the throw-in has ended. Therefore, the throw-in exception I mentioned (9-9-3) does not apply, and A2 has committed a violation.

This is where the confusion lies for many officials. Exactly the same play, except for the (seemingly) minor addition of the tip by the defender.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566225)
Ok, I know the rule is correct, but I guess its not making sense.
Since A2 is in the air when TC and PC is established and TC was never established before that even with the tip by B1 I dont see how this could be BC.

As bob said.

There's no requirement to establish TC "before" you establish FC status; nor is there a requirement for the opposite order.

Once A2 catches this ball in the air, TC has been established in the FC. A long time ago, it used to be listed as an exception to the rule, but now it's an exception within the rule (more of a structural difference). The exception only applies to defensive players, jump balls, and throwins. Honestly, I can understand defensive players and jump balls (the team doesn't really have control of the ball), but can't understand the throwin.

A few years ago, there was a big discussion here about whether the exception applied to all situations in which there was no team control (in which case both situations in the OP would be legal) or only to the very specific examples given in the rule (during throwin, jump ball, and for defensive player). NFHS helped us out with the case play.

rockyroad Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 566189)
Thank you for confirming for me. It is a balmy -8 here on the NW coast but a chilly -44 in Fairbanks.

-8?? That's a whole half-a-degree warmer than my hometown of Soldotna is right now!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1