The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
IN high school at least, all three points is only in reference to a player dribbling the ball.

Someone just standing there has FC status as soon as his back foot leaves the back court.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.
Three points is true when the ball is being dribbled but location here is based on the players feet. One foot in BC ball has BC status, when the foot in BC gets lifted, only one foot down in FC ball also has FC status now.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:03pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
The T is deep in the backcourt with the A1 (who as the ball) and B1.

A1 fires a baseball pass to A2 who is near the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in F/C and the other in B/C. A2 lifts foot in B/C and gets stuck an then throws to A3 who is in the B/C.

The T is way behind the play and as trouble seeing it. First, is this a violation and second is it o.k. for C to call this?
Is the C located somewhere near the division line or at the division line with a 100% high certainty look? The F/C foot isnt still touching the division line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
Rules reference please...

I think it's good teamwork & for the good of the game to pick-up something that matters if a partner missed it. That's what partners are for.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Is the C located somewhere near the division line or at the division line with a 100% high certainty look? .
Can someone define 100% high certainty to me?

Contradiction in terms imo.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Velley Forge, PA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
My motto: "Call whatever you want in my area. Just make sure you are correct."

Everything else is noise and ego. If you are 100%, make the call on that. That's being a good crewmate.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 08:49am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOracle View Post
My motto: "Call whatever you want in my area. Just make sure you are correct."

Everything else is noise and ego.
I disagree, but we've had this discussion dozens of times.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
1. You might want to rethink that statement... you're not correct here.
2. Of course the C should call it.. often, in a press situation the C is right on the division line when this happens.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 01:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Re-think which statement?

It was a B/C violation. I worded it wrong from the get-go. The problem was the T could not completely see the play and the C was right on it. However, the C told the T it was his line.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Re-think which statement?
He's just saying to rethink your "all three points" statement since it is in no way germane to this situation because the player wasn't dribbling.

If you knew it was a B/C violation, why did you include that statement?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
He's just saying to rethink your "all three points" statement since it is in no way germane to this situation because the player wasn't dribbling.

If you knew it was a B/C violation, why did you include that statement?
Written poorly ... meant to to suggest that T had a tough look at a play and was not sure if it was B/C violation. THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Written poorly ... meant to to suggest that T had a tough look at a play and was not sure if it was B/C violation. THANKS!
Gotcha...makes sense to me now!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
All the 3-man that I've worked, this is the C's call. The C should be near mid-court at this point since there is ball pressure. Unless the ball is within 5 (or so) feet of the division line, this should be C's call. If the ball handler is within 5 (or so) feet of the division line, I guess the T could call it as well. my (Corrected) $0.02

-Josh

Last edited by jdmara; Tue Dec 23, 2008 at 04:15pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1