The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Yes it was a B/C violation ... just wanted to know what all thought about the C calling a B/C violation. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:29pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Absolutely the C's call in this situation. T is stuck deep, C is right there and sees it - go get it. Beautiful call for the C to make.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:03pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
The T is deep in the backcourt with the A1 (who as the ball) and B1.

A1 fires a baseball pass to A2 who is near the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in F/C and the other in B/C. A2 lifts foot in B/C and gets stuck an then throws to A3 who is in the B/C.

The T is way behind the play and has trouble seeing it. First, is this a violation and second is it o.k. for C to call this?
1 billion % yes. It is ok for the C to call this violation.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:20pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Part of my pre-game is that C has primary responsibility for any violations between the free throw circles in transition, even on the opposite side of the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm the one who brought this up; I felt when I made it that it was a good get for C and that was confirmed here.

My play was slightly different. B1 steals the pass in transition with both feet just inside the front court. As he takes off towards his basket, his back foot steps back onto the line as a sort of momentum gathering move. I hit it as C and feel good about it. T didn't see it the same way and questioned me on it later.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
The T is deep in the backcourt with the A1 (who as the ball) and B1.

A1 fires a baseball pass to A2 who is near the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in F/C and the other in B/C. A2 lifts foot in B/C and gets stuck an then throws to A3 who is in the B/C.

The T is way behind the play and as trouble seeing it. First, is this a violation and second is it o.k. for C to call this?
Not only is it "o.k.", it's expected for C to call this.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2008, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not only is it "o.k.", it's expected for C to call this.
This has a 100% high certainty of being correct. This has been discussed in other threads and as stated before, the Officials Manual gives provisions for transition. 3.3.5 C(2) states that the C is responsible for fouls and violations between top of the circle in the backcourt to top of the circle in front court. And I take this to mean sideline to sideline.

Once the transition is over (ball in the frontcourt) cover your PCA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1