The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
From the C ...

The T is deep in the backcourt with the A1 (who as the ball) and B1.

A1 fires a baseball pass to A2 who is near the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in F/C and the other in B/C. A2 lifts foot in B/C and gets stuck an then throws to A3 who is in the B/C.

The T is way behind the play and as trouble seeing it. It was difficult to tell if this was a violation and second is it o.k. for C to call this?

Last edited by Johnny Ringo; Tue Dec 23, 2008 at 11:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
When A2 lifted foot in BC, A2 gave the ball FC status. Passing it back to A3 in BC = Backcourt Violation. I work more 2 man and if T is deep in BC and pass is to division line, I surely wouldn't mind help from the L, so I can't imagine not helping as a C.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:47pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
C Linger Momentarily at D-L in Transition?

This was considered about three weeks ago in a thread asking if, in transition, C should pause at the division line. The consensus back then was that it was a good idea in order to catch a good glimpse down the division line in case of a close play exactly as you bring up.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
IN high school at least, all three points is only in reference to a player dribbling the ball.

Someone just standing there has FC status as soon as his back foot leaves the back court.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.
Three points is true when the ball is being dribbled but location here is based on the players feet. One foot in BC ball has BC status, when the foot in BC gets lifted, only one foot down in FC ball also has FC status now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:03pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
The T is deep in the backcourt with the A1 (who as the ball) and B1.

A1 fires a baseball pass to A2 who is near the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in F/C and the other in B/C. A2 lifts foot in B/C and gets stuck an then throws to A3 who is in the B/C.

The T is way behind the play and as trouble seeing it. First, is this a violation and second is it o.k. for C to call this?
Is the C located somewhere near the division line or at the division line with a 100% high certainty look? The F/C foot isnt still touching the division line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
Rules reference please...

I think it's good teamwork & for the good of the game to pick-up something that matters if a partner missed it. That's what partners are for.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
The T is deep in the backcourt with the A1 (who as the ball) and B1.

A1 fires a baseball pass to A2 who is near the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in F/C and the other in B/C. A2 lifts foot in B/C and gets stuck an then throws to A3 who is in the B/C.

The T is way behind the play and as trouble seeing it. First, is this a violation and second is it o.k. for C to call this?
Yes it's a violation. When A2 lifted the foot in B/C, his location was F/C. Then he passed to a player in B/C.

Yes, it's good for the C to give help on this play. That's why we have 3 officials (to get good play coverage).
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson)
Z
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
Yes it was a B/C violation ... just wanted to know what all thought about the C calling a B/C violation. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:29pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,776
Absolutely the C's call in this situation. T is stuck deep, C is right there and sees it - go get it. Beautiful call for the C to make.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Look at 4.4.1 in the case book, it explains the backcourt violation and when its not BC. As far as the C making the call, I have no problem with that. We have always been told to have a strong C.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:03pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
The T is deep in the backcourt with the A1 (who as the ball) and B1.

A1 fires a baseball pass to A2 who is near the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in F/C and the other in B/C. A2 lifts foot in B/C and gets stuck an then throws to A3 who is in the B/C.

The T is way behind the play and has trouble seeing it. First, is this a violation and second is it o.k. for C to call this?
1 billion % yes. It is ok for the C to call this violation.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:20pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Part of my pre-game is that C has primary responsibility for any violations between the free throw circles in transition, even on the opposite side of the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I'm the one who brought this up; I felt when I made it that it was a good get for C and that was confirmed here.

My play was slightly different. B1 steals the pass in transition with both feet just inside the front court. As he takes off towards his basket, his back foot steps back onto the line as a sort of momentum gathering move. I hit it as C and feel good about it. T didn't see it the same way and questioned me on it later.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Velley Forge, PA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
They say all three points - both feet and ball - in this case the ball was never dribbled in FC.

To all of those who work 3-man: are you ok with the C calling a B/C violation?
My motto: "Call whatever you want in my area. Just make sure you are correct."

Everything else is noise and ego. If you are 100%, make the call on that. That's being a good crewmate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1