The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You sure can. But you must do so before either foot is lifted.
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.
__________________
"players must decide the outcome of the game with legal actions, not illegal actions which an official chooses to ignore."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.
What's your rule basis for this? Where does it say you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.
Rule 4-44-4 b would disagree with you....
4-44 Traveling...
ART 4. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a One or both fee may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for a goal
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 08:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
I Am Curious (Yellow) ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.
I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?
Of course.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 21, 2008, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?
As Bob said...of course.

Why you might wonder...because it is BEFORE the pivot foot (which is yet to be determined) is lifted.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 11:42am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Rule 4-44-4 b would disagree with you....
4-44 Traveling...
ART 4. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a One or both fee may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for a goal
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.
Game, set, match!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's talk about floor positioning on the fastbreak... Coltdoggs Basketball 11 Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:13am
Question about fastbreak foul jt_clark Basketball 9 Fri Feb 10, 2006 01:21pm
Dribbling Up Court BBallinRick Basketball 10 Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:16am
Dribbling and Over polo Basketball 32 Sun Aug 03, 2003 10:08pm
Not dribbling? bard Basketball 18 Fri Nov 22, 2002 08:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1