The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 11:31pm
BBallinRick
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Bear with me as I try to explain this best I can. A1 is dribbling up court after an offensive rebound (fast break situation) and will dribbling up court, B1 is gaining on A1. A1 sort of stops to throw his body/backside into B1 (Sam Cassell does this a lot in the NBA). If B1 knocks over A1, is this a foul on B1, even though he didn't cause it? Also, (for those who understand at all what I'm trying to say) can A1 be called for any foul here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 12:22am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,940
Not if B1 just runs into A1.

Now if A1 initiates some contact, you could call a foul on them. But it would be unlikely if B1 cannot avoid A1 who has the ball.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 01:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by BBallinRick
Bear with me as I try to explain this best I can. A1 is dribbling up court after an offensive rebound (fast break situation) and will dribbling up court, B1 is gaining on A1. A1 sort of stops to throw his body/backside into B1 (Sam Cassell does this a lot in the NBA). If B1 knocks over A1, is this a foul on B1, even though he didn't cause it? Also, (for those who understand at all what I'm trying to say) can A1 be called for any foul here?
BBallinRick,

For future posts, I think you mean after a defensive rebound by A1 rather than an offensive rebound. If it was an offensive rebound, A1 would probably have gone right back to the hoop rather than dribbling up court right?

Case 10.6.2 Situation C says the following: "When both the dribbler and the opponent are moving in exactly the same path and same direction, the player behind is responsible for contact which results if the player in front slows down or stops." So if all A1 did is slow down is stop, it's pretty clear that the foul would be on B1.

However, you say that A1 "sort of stops to throw his body/backside into B1" I think I'd have to see exactly what A1 did to know if that was a foul on A1 or not.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 01:10am
BBallinRick
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Oh yeah, defensive rebound, sorry. And thanks a lot guys, cleared it up pretty well for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Further clarification

I'm not sure that it's all cleared up for me.... If they are traveling down the same path, yes, O.K., the foul is on B1. But what I have seen, and I'm guessing that the original question here contemplated, is when A1 *moves into* B1's path and stops. A1 gets to the spot first, but B1 is going too fast to stop or change directions. Tough luck for B1?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,112
Re: Further clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by bgtg19
I'm not sure that it's all cleared up for me.... If they are traveling down the same path, yes, O.K., the foul is on B1. But what I have seen, and I'm guessing that the original question here contemplated, is when A1 *moves into* B1's path and stops. A1 gets to the spot first, but B1 is going too fast to stop or change directions. Tough luck for B1?
You're describing a screening action. Apply those rules (time and distance, etc.)

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,780
Re: Further clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by bgtg19
I'm not sure that it's all cleared up for me.... If they are traveling down the same path, yes, O.K., the foul is on B1. But what I have seen, and I'm guessing that the original question here contemplated, is when A1 *moves into* B1's path and stops. A1 gets to the spot first, but B1 is going too fast to stop or change directions. Tough luck for B1?
No, foul on A1. When ever getting to a postion in the path of a moving opponent (who does not have the ball), time and distance must be given for that opponent to stop or change directions. This can be up to two steps depending on the speed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,453
Re: Re: Further clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by bgtg19
I'm not sure that it's all cleared up for me.... If they are traveling down the same path, yes, O.K., the foul is on B1. But what I have seen, and I'm guessing that the original question here contemplated, is when A1 *moves into* B1's path and stops. A1 gets to the spot first, but B1 is going too fast to stop or change directions. Tough luck for B1?
No, foul on A1. When ever getting to a postion in the path of a moving opponent (who does not have the ball), time and distance must be given for that opponent to stop or change directions. This can be up to two steps depending on the speed.
If the foul is on A-1 (who is dribbling), then do you call it a player control foul?
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. He will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,112
Re: Re: Re: Further clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by dblref
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by bgtg19
I'm not sure that it's all cleared up for me.... If they are traveling down the same path, yes, O.K., the foul is on B1. But what I have seen, and I'm guessing that the original question here contemplated, is when A1 *moves into* B1's path and stops. A1 gets to the spot first, but B1 is going too fast to stop or change directions. Tough luck for B1?
No, foul on A1. When ever getting to a postion in the path of a moving opponent (who does not have the ball), time and distance must be given for that opponent to stop or change directions. This can be up to two steps depending on the speed.
If the foul is on A-1 (who is dribbling), then do you call it a player control foul?
Isn't A1 in control? Isn't a foul by a player who is in control of the ball (or an airborne shooter) a player control foul?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Re: Re: Re: Further clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Isn't a foul by a player who is in control of the ball (or an airborne shooter) a player control foul?
Usually. . .
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,112
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Further clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Isn't a foul by a player who is in control of the ball (or an airborne shooter) a player control foul?
Usually. . .
Commonly ...

Good catch.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1