![]() |
|
|||
2 steps without dribbling on fastbreak
why is it not a travel on a fast break when a player catches the ball and then takes his or her 2 steps towards the basket for a lay-up and it is any other time????
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
jevaque: By definition, if A1 catches a pass, gains control of the ball (assuming he did not already have control of ball), or stops his dribble with both feet in the air, then he is allowed to land on one foot (his left (LF) foot for this illustration), jump off the LF, land on his RF, then jump in the air off his RF and release the ball for a try or pass. That is not traveling. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
If the player doesn't move his / her pivot foot in excess of what's allowed, it's legal. If s/he does, it's illegal -- whether on a fast-break layup or any other time. |
|
|||
No, bob just told you that there is no set amount of steps. The rule does work that way. The traveling rule hinges upon the movement of the pivot foot. You need to learn how a pivot foot is established and how it can legally be moved and how it can't. Then you will understand your posed situation.
|
|
|||
"Let's have a little traveling music Sammy"
The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
The traveling rule is all about the pivot foot. If you understand which foot is the pivot foot and what can be done with the pivot foot, then everything else because very easy. The problem is we call thing that "look funny" but we do not identify the pivot foot or what was done with that foot.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
It is called a typo. Those tend to happen from time to time.
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
virtually, on the play you are talking about in particular, the "two steps" you refer to are legal, because the player catches the ball and lands on his first foot, which is now considered his pivot, followed by his second, which is his non pivot. A player is allowed to come off of his pivot foot but is not allowed to put that pivot foot back down, until he shoots or passes. He is not allowed to dribble as he has no pivot foot at this point in time, and as we all know you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble.
__________________
"players must decide the outcome of the game with legal actions, not illegal actions which an official chooses to ignore." |
|
|||
A player can start a dribble before establishing a pivot foot. After some jump stops neither foot may be the pivot foot but a dribble can be started.
|
|
|||
you do have a pivot foot it just is not designated yet. plays such as the one stated and a play where the player jumps in the air and then decides that he/she wanted to dribble instead are cases in which they no longer have a pivot foot. Trying to be smart and literal about the rules will get you nowhere.
__________________
"players must decide the outcome of the game with legal actions, not illegal actions which an official chooses to ignore." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Let's talk about floor positioning on the fastbreak... | Coltdoggs | Basketball | 11 | Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:13am |
Question about fastbreak foul | jt_clark | Basketball | 9 | Fri Feb 10, 2006 01:21pm |
Dribbling Up Court | BBallinRick | Basketball | 10 | Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:16am |
Dribbling and Over | polo | Basketball | 32 | Sun Aug 03, 2003 10:08pm |
Not dribbling? | bard | Basketball | 18 | Fri Nov 22, 2002 08:43am |