![]() |
|
|
|||
Correctable error?
Don't know what it is with scorer/timer issues the last week for me...last night BV game, my partner calls a foul on a rebound and the kid responds to him with a "you suck" so BANG ZOOM..goes to the table to report the personal and the tech which results in the kid fouling out. We get the replacement in and are trying to hash out the number of team fouls. Partner spends a good 30 seconds with the official scorer determining the number of team fouls and the scorer (who had his head up his arse the whole game) confirms/double confirms that the tech is #7. So we have no shots for the first foul and go to shoot the tech. Kid makes one and misses one and as we are about to inbound the ball the inbounder is asking me why we didn't shoot for the first foul and I say b/c that was only 6 and the tech was 7 and he goes "no it wasn't" and points to the board and sure enough now there are 8 team fouls. So we walk to the table again and WHOOPS the official scorer who confirmed and double confirmed that the tech was 7 was wrong, it was actually 8 and the scoreboard operator thought he could just go ahead and sneak that extra foul up on the board....so the three of us get together and determine that we have a correctbale error for failure to award the bonus free throws on the first foul. So we wipe the point off the board, shoot the 1 and 1 and then re-shoot the tech. Afterwards I started thinking about it and couldn't get it out of my head that I have seen this scenario discussed on this board and that the consensus was that this situation is not a failure to award since you did give them the tech free throws, that the correct thing to do would have been to not take the point off, but just to go ahead and award the 1 & 1 and give them the ball at the division line even though we would have been shooting out of order....somebody help me here did we kick this one?
|
|
|||
Yea, you kicked it, but don't worry about it too much. Next time (25 years from now!) you'll get it totally right.
Once the T is shot, it's shot. Now when you give the 1-and-1, it's not a do-over it's "correcting a correctable error" by just giving those shots that you didn't give. The correct restart was the inbounds at the division line, even without the T being the last shots, since that's the POI. There's nothing nicer than a good table, and nothing more frustrating than a lousy one. I totally sympathize with your frustration!! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
MISTAKE IN ADMINISTRATION SEQUENCE 8.7 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Nevada you're awesome thanks! |
|
|||
So what? There's no requirement that the numbers be in the official book by 10 minutes.
|
|
|||
Bob, are trying to make the point that they only need to be supplied not physically written in the book? Agreed, but since the official scorer was nowhere to be seen i guess he couldn't have been "supplied" with them could he? Point understood however..
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Have the meeting first, then get to the book later. Or, check the numbers in the home team book and the visiting team book. Physically taking the book from the V scorer and requesting the announcer to transcribe into the home book is way OOO, imho. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correctable error??? | Kelvin green | Basketball | 13 | Mon May 14, 2007 12:40pm |
Correctable Error? | nukewhistle | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:10pm |
Correctable Error???? | mtbabo | Basketball | 10 | Tue Jul 27, 2004 02:33am |
Another correctable error in NIT | Nevadaref | Basketball | 2 | Tue Mar 23, 2004 05:01pm |
correctable error?? | cmathews | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 26, 2003 01:40am |