The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 10:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Rotflmao!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:14am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You're going to an intentional foul on contact that wouldn't even warrant a personal foul in normal circumstances?
Maybe...depends on the contact. There is some contact that would be considered inadvertent on the court that would not be inadvertent on a inbounder (is that a real word?).
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:18am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I think you mean "incidental," and I actually agree with that. That said, I think it would have to have an impact to call the intentional foul. I agree that impact may be easier to find on a thrower, though.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
I have this understanding of this rule.

A opponent can never reach across and touch the ball BEFORE it is released. If it has been released it can be touched by reaching through the plane UNLESS it is NOT a spot throw-in.

Examples: A1 has a designated spot throw-in. A1 releases the ball on a throw-in. B1 reaches through the plane and contacts the ball while it is out of A1's hands. I have nothing here.

Now let's say the throw-in by A1 is after a made basket by B. Same thing occurs, I have a warning for breaking the plane.

This is the way this rule has been interpreted for me. Is this correct? I don't have access to a book right now, but I know that there is language in there about reaching through BEFORE the ball is released on a throw-in during a spot throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:36am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Close. If the ball has been released for the throwin pass, B1 is free to reach across. It gets tricky on an endline throwin (or it could, anyway) because A1 might be throwing to a teammate standing OOB. If this happens and B1 reaches across, it's a violation. If A1 throws to a teammate inbounds, B1 may reach across.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:41am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It gets tricky on an endline throwin (or it could, anyway) because A1 might be throwing to a teammate standing OOB. If this happens and B1 reaches across, it's a violation.
Actually, it's a technical.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Actually, it's a technical.
Only if a) they've already been warned, or b) they hit the ball.

Either way, it's still under rule 9, violations.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 12:15pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jburt View Post
I have searched through some past threads but haven't had any luck finding an answer. I also do not have my books with me at work...

60seconds on officiating got me thinking about this situation:
A1 is inbounding. B1 reaches across the boundary line and contacts A1

I know that is an intentional foul my question is: is a delay of game warning also issued for breaking the plane?

JBurt:

Assuming you are talking about a game being played using NFHS Rules, if an official warning for any of the four delays listed in R4-S47 has not yet been issued to Team B, then an official warning shall be issued to Team B as well as the intentional personal foul charged to B1. Furthermore, if Team B had not yet been issued an official warning and instead B1 reached across the boundary plane and made contact with the ball, B1 would be charged with a technical foul and Team B would be issued an official warning.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
thanks for your reply's and good discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 12:31pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Only if a) they've already been warned, or b) they hit the ball.

Either way, it's still under rule 9, violations.
The post prior to your involved contact with the ball, so I assumed that's what we were still talking about.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
The ball or the thrower-in???
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I know a foul here is automatically intentional, that wasn't my question.
My question is whether "contact" automatically equals a foul in this case. Your rule quote above seems to answer that in the negative. Contact does not necessarily mean a foul must be called.
NO warning for delay required here reflects that you do not have to issue the warning prior to making the call.

however I would assume that the warning comes with the call as is the action of reaching through the plane is violation, the NCAA specificall covers this in several sections to say the warning comes with the foul call.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 12:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
NO warning for delay required here reflects that you do not have to issue the warning prior to making the call.

however I would assume that the warning comes with the call as is the action of reaching through the plane is violation, the NCAA specificall covers this in several sections to say the warning comes with the foul call.
Agreed, but I've never contradicted this. NFHS also specifically states that if you call an intentional or technical for this, the warning is issued at the same time.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twenty technicals in one game - all for delay of game! Mark Padgett Basketball 14 Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:55pm
delay by defense on free throw todd66 Basketball 8 Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:56am
A case for delay during free throw? Rick Durkee Basketball 7 Thu Jul 28, 2005 08:55am
OOB throw in delay of game on def.... thumpferee Basketball 8 Thu Jan 13, 2005 07:23pm
Delay of Game?? Rev.Ref63 Basketball 20 Sat Jan 12, 2002 01:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1