The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 44
Double Dribble or Fumble?

Defensive player A1 obtains possesion of the rebound, and is looking to pass the ball to a teammate. Teammate A2 bumps into A1 causing him to drop the ball. A1 reobtains possesion of the ball with both hands and then starts a dribble. Is this double dribble?

Would it be different if no one had bumped into A!, and he just lost control by himself?
__________________
Sorry, no signature.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
Defensive player A1 obtains possesion of the rebound, and is looking to pass the ball to a teammate. Teammate A2 bumps into A1 causing him to drop the ball. A1 reobtains possesion of the ball with both hands and then starts a dribble. Is this double dribble?

Would it be different if no one had bumped into A!, and he just lost control by himself?
Sounds like a basic fumble to me for either sitch. A1 can regain possession and use his/her dribble if not already used.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)

Last edited by SamIAm; Thu Mar 13, 2008 at 08:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 375
Agree, fumble.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
Sounds like a basic fumble to me for either sitch. A1 can regain possession and use his/her dribble if not already used.
Basic idea is fumble, dribble, fumble okay. Dribble, fumble, Dribble, violation. I say this "fumble, dribble, fumble okay" when I do my pregame in the locker room. Helps me when it suddenly happens. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 06:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,444
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 14, 2008, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.
OK just to spice this up a bit suppose A1 dribbles ball fumbles it and during fumble B1 legally touches the ball but A1 recovers. Is it legal for A1 to dribble again?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 14, 2008, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOFFICIAL
OK just to spice this up a bit suppose A1 dribbles ball fumbles it and during fumble B1 legally touches the ball but A1 recovers. Is it legal for A1 to dribble again?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interrupted Dribble vs Fumble Carl Cramer Basketball 9 Tue Nov 14, 2006 08:34am
dribble/fumble/dribble scat03 Basketball 6 Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:41pm
Fumble, but also double dribble? Back In The Saddle Basketball 15 Thu Feb 17, 2005 06:42pm
Dribble/Fumble JLC Basketball 5 Fri Dec 20, 2002 05:15am
Fumble-Dribble-Fumble doghead Basketball 5 Sat Oct 14, 2000 02:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1