The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I've got this as correct. Only action during the free throw is canceled by rule, so A2's basket counts.
I would think the same thing, except 2-10-4 states that the free throw shall be canceled. Note that it does NOT say that the successful free throw shall be canceled. It says the free throw period.

So, I have A3 attempting ONE free throw with the lane cleared.

The case book does not clarify this.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 06:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Interesting; I think the purpose of the rule is to get the correct player to shoot both free throws at the correct hoop, I think the intent is clearly to only cancel the erroneously shot free throw.

I'll have A3 shoot 2 shots. Unless you want to apply this to a situation where everyone follows your partner to the wrong basket where the correct shooter takes a shot or two....
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Interesting; I think the purpose of the rule is to get the correct player to shoot both free throws at the correct hoop, I think the intent is clearly to only cancel the erroneously shot free throw.

I'll have A3 shoot 2 shots. Unless you want to apply this to a situation where everyone follows your partner to the wrong basket where the correct shooter takes a shot or two....
Your logic makes sense. I wish it were clarified in the case book.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
I guess here's another way to apply logic to the question:

If the rules intended for us to cancel the attempt and only award one FT to A3, then why even have that be a correctable error in the first place? The outcome, according to my initial interpretation, is the same either way, so why even have the rule?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 08:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
I would think the same thing, except 2-10-4 states that the free throw shall be canceled. Note that it does NOT say that the successful free throw shall be canceled. It says the free throw period.

So, I have A3 attempting ONE free throw with the lane cleared.

The case book does not clarify this.

Thoughts?
I would think that it means to cancle the free throw by the wrong player not the free throw in general. A3 should still get his two shots he never recieved. he already lost them once, why twice. If i'm following your thought? sometime I only make sence to myself
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some help on a free throw situation. NURef Basketball 35 Sat Jul 05, 2008 01:10pm
Free throw situation dkmz17 Basketball 3 Fri Feb 09, 2007 09:57am
Free Throw Situation! bigdogrunnin Basketball 3 Sun Nov 19, 2006 01:08pm
Free Throw Situation rpirtle Basketball 5 Sun Dec 14, 2003 09:49pm
Free Throw situation camster Basketball 2 Sun Nov 17, 2002 11:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1