![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Hey, wait a minute...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Well Done zebra44, Much Better Than What zebra43 Had To Offer ...
Rookie officials, please make a note of this statement. Easy to understand, simple, and a pretty good interpretation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Dec 02, 2008 at 08:37pm. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
BTW, I'm sticking with a no-call followed by an OOB call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Geez. After months of lurking I actually had to register on this one, to ask two questions.
1. What rule refers to "the cylinder that each person is entitled to" This sounds like ESPN-speak. 2. Similiarly, I am unable to find "the rule that says if the contact is not in the torso area of the defender the defender is at fault" Kind of eerie that a site that regularly posts "misunderstood rules" would see postings from people who should know better inventing rules that aren't in the book. But then perhaps the "torso rule" and the "cylinder rule" are on the same page as "reach" and "over the back" fouls, and I haven't gotten to that page yet. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also everyone seems to be missing the obvious: WHO INITIATED THE CONTACT? Even if the contact is torso to torso, it doesn't have to be PC if the Defender moved to the offensive player, or if the offensive player bowls over a defender who is not stationary it doesn't have to be a block. The player initiating the contact is the one held liable in most cases. I got nothing on this contact - whistle the ball OOB and we go the other way.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
It seems to me it depends on HOW far apart the defender's legs/feet were. If he was just standing there and his feet were 2 cm wider than his shoulders, well, that's not what I call an "extended limb". Also, I wonder what angle is included in all the various sentences. If his feet point at an angle away from the body, the toes might be farther apart than the width of the shoulders. And that kind of position might be easier to trip over. But is that a blocking foul? Hmm....
|
|
|||
|
Why should the offense get the advantage? He/she is not standing there like a beanpole with feet shoulder width apart driving to the basket. Their feet are farther than shoulder width apart and that's normal.
If the defender obtained that spot legally, and is playing good defense: butt down, knees bent, back straight... their feet will almost always naturally be at LEAST shoulder width apart. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
To be honest, the majority of the time I see the width of the feet being an issue is on screens where the screener tries to make himself "bigger".
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Wed Dec 03, 2008 at 05:12pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But the screening rules mention only 2 requirements hands and arms close to body and stationary. I find nothing that says how far the feet can be apart....as long as she is stationary. One thing I am working on this year is having the screeners set backwards screens. Meaning the screener faces away from her teammate she is screening. It forces A1 to USE A2's screen and keeps A2 from seeing the path of B1 and being tempted to stick out the hip, leg. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 is guarded by B1. A1 fools B1 with a crossover dribble from his left to right and reverses direction. B1 starts to follow and quickly stops but winds up with his left leg splayed out behind him. A1 trips over B1's left foot, which has not moved in the last several seconds. Is this a blocking foul?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Juulie, you have change my outlook on this situation with the aboved statement.
__________________
truerookie |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bunt is laid down....who covers third in this instance? | bombdiggity | Softball | 6 | Fri May 04, 2007 03:42pm |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |