The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 86
Throw in question

Had this discussion last week at a scrimmage. One of the officials brought up the play.

A1 is inbounding the ball underneath B's basket for a spot throw-in. B1, guarding A1, is 6-10 with extremely long arms making it difficult for A1 to make the inbounds pass. A2 runs down to the baseline to receive the pass. A1 throws the ball parallel to the the baseline, but the ball does not break the in-bounds plane (it stays out of bounds). A2, while standing with both feet legally in-bounds, reaches over the line and receives the pass.

Is this a violation? Please see rule 9.2.2 (my rule books are out in the car, so I may be giving you the wrong reference). It seems like the rule book is calling this a violation. I have never seen this called or discussed. To me, it sounds like a legal play. What do you say?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in question. mu4scott Basketball 7 Fri Feb 22, 2008 06:27pm
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Throw-In Question Husker John Basketball 1 Mon Jan 30, 2006 01:44pm
Throw in question... footlocker Basketball 3 Wed Mar 03, 2004 06:37am
Another throw in question k2explorer Basketball 13 Thu Jan 02, 2003 02:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1