![]() |
|
|||
backcourt violation
you know how in football, to be called for passing beyond the line of scrimmage (IFP), you have to have every single part of your body over the line? if your heel is still on the line of scrimmage, but everything else is in front of it, it still counts as a legal pass.
well, i was wondering how backcourt violation works in the nba. more so, when are you considered to be in the front court? i'm pretty sure it doesn't work like the nfl. i heard one of the bulls announcers say it's where the ball is, but how can that be, because that would mean you could be standing in the backcourt, then reach the ball over the line and pull it back and that would be a backcourt violation. it would also mean that you could be 100% in the frontcourt, and as long as the ball is in the frontcourt, you could touch your foot behind the halfcourt line, which i know you cannot do. Last edited by PackersFTW; Mon Nov 24, 2008 at 11:25pm. |
|
|||
To be in frontcourt, a player holding the ball must have something touching the frontcourt and nothing touching the backcourt. A dribbler must have both feet and the ball touch the frontcourt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
From the NBA Rule Book:
Section VI—Frontcourt/Backcourt a. A team’s frontcourt consists of that part of the court between its endline and the nearer edge of the midcourt line, including the basket and inbounds part of the backboard. b. A team’s backcourt consists of the entire midcourt line and the rest of the court to include the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the backboard. c. A ball being held by a player: (1) is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt, (2) is in the backcourt if either the ball or player is touching the backcourt. d. A ball being dribbled is (1) in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the player are in the frontcourt, (2) in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player is in the backcourt. e. The ball is considered in the frontcourt once it has broken the plane of the midcourt line and is not in player control. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
A More Tolerant Forum ???
I have never seen so many NBA rule posts on the Forum without some type of harassment from Forum members, until recently. Are we becoming more tolerant?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
-Josh |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
the rules talk about "touching" but what about jumping, which would involve "touched". both feet and the ball should need to touch the frontcourt before you are considered in the frontcourt, but with the way the rules are worded, that doesn't seem to be the case. Last edited by PackersFTW; Tue Nov 25, 2008 at 10:19pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Some advice: If you identify the level of play (NFHS/NCAA/NBA) the posters here can give you a better answer. And never, ever, listen to what the announcers say about rules! ![]() |
|
||||
Quote:
Second of all, the NBA doesn't have nearly the following the NFL does. Most basketball fans I know of (not all, most) have long ago given up watching the NBA and prefer college ball. Aside from that, SethPDX says it well here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
So, if you are holding the ball with your right foot in the frontcourt and your left foot in the backcourt, you are in the backcourt. You may pick up your right foot (you're still in the backcourt) and place it back down in the backcourt or the frontcourt with no penalty. Either way, you're still in the backcourt. The ball never achieved frontcourt status, so there can't be a backcourt violation. Now, if you're straddling the line again and you pick up your LEFT foot, you now have nothing touching in the backcourt so the ball now has frontcourt status. If you then put that foot back down in the backcourt, you have committed a violation. By contrast, if you are dribbling the ball near midcourt and are straddling the division line with your right foot in the frontcourt and your left foot in the backcourt, you have a lot more flexibility. You can continue to dribble the ball in the backcourt and move your left foot into the frontcourt and back to the backcourt again with no violation. You can dribble the ball in the frontcourt (keeping your left foot in the backcourt) and then bring it back to the backcourt, with no violation. You can bring your right foot into the backcourt without a violation. All of these things are legal, WHILE DRIBBLING, because both feet and the ball must touch in the frontcourt in order for the ball to have frontcourt status. Hope that's not overkill to make my point. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt Violation? | HawkeyeCubP | Basketball | 34 | Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:45am |
Backcourt Violation? | rwest | Basketball | 6 | Tue Dec 12, 2006 06:41pm |
Backcourt violation | lukealex | Basketball | 41 | Sat Mar 04, 2006 09:48am |
Backcourt violation??? | UmpJM | Basketball | 1 | Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:15pm |
Backcourt Violation | Bchill24 | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:56am |