The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2007, 11:17pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Backcourt Violation?

A1, in frontcourt, throws ball to A2, who has one foot in front court, one foot in backcourt, jumps up with both feet leaving floor at same time and catches ball. Violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 03, 2007, 11:23pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
A1, in frontcourt, throws ball to A2, who has one foot in front court, one foot in backcourt, jumps up with both feet leaving floor at same time and catches ball. Violation?
A2 is in the BC until he is touching the FC and is no longer touching the BC.

Since he jumped with both feet, he did not meet this requirement.

It's similiar to a situation where he would have been OOB. He's not inbounds until he's touching inbounds and no longer touching OOB.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 05, 2007, 11:08am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 05, 2007, 12:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
You're welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 05, 2007, 01:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
What if the half-court line happens to be the the line between time zones, with the front court in Central Time and the backcourt in Mountain Time?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 05, 2007, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
What if the half-court line happens to be the the line between time zones, with the front court in Central Time and the backcourt in Mountain Time?
Then it becomes a time zone violation, instead of a time line violation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 05, 2007, 01:50pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Do I need to remind everyone of the oft-mentioned situation where you are calling a game on the deck of an ocean liner and the ship crosses the International Date Line (and it is suddenly yesterday) while you are in the middle of a ten-second backcourt count?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Ok...I'm confused. If a player is straddling the division line, e.i. one foot in the back court and one foot in the front court, the player is still considered in the backcourt, correct?

Now, if we take the premise that you are where you are when you leave the floor (e.g. behind the three point line or catching the ball in the air going from backcourt to front court...etc) why is the player receiving the pass in this thread not considered having backcourt status?

Does his status change in mid air?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 08:35am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
I think you need to re-read the responses to the original post Frank. Then you will be able to answer your own question.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...I'm confused. If a player is straddling the division line, e.i. one foot in the back court and one foot in the front court, the player is still considered in the backcourt, correct?

Now, if we take the premise that you are where you are when you leave the floor (e.g. behind the three point line or catching the ball in the air going from backcourt to front court...etc) why is the player receiving the pass in this thread not considered having backcourt status?

Does his status change in mid air?
All your assertions and conclusions are correct. The player is in the BC.

Maybe you misread the OP: "A1, in frontcourt, throws ball to A2"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
OK...so I didn't do so well on my SAT reading comprehension
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 09:41am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
A1, in frontcourt, throws ball to A2, who has one foot in front court, one foot in backcourt, jumps up with both feet leaving floor at same time and catches ball. Violation?
rainmaker says "You are where you were until you get where you're going." (Juulie - can I quote you on that?)

A2 was in the BC because one part of him/her was in the BC. When s/he jumps, s/he is still in the BC. At A2's touching, it is a violation.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 09:43am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Do I need to remind everyone of the oft-mentioned situation where you are calling a game on the deck of an ocean liner and the ship crosses the International Date Line (and it is suddenly yesterday) while you are in the middle of a ten-second backcourt count?
Quiz time:

What is the southern most state?

What is the northern most state?

What is the westernly most state?

What is the easternly most state?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Quiz time:

What is the southern most state?

What is the northern most state?

What is the westernly most state?

What is the easternly most state?
Off top of my head w/o cheating....
Florida (maybe Hawaii ??)
Alaska
Alaska
Maine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation bronco Basketball 10 Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:15pm
Backcourt violation or not? ref4e Basketball 21 Mon Nov 26, 2001 04:59pm
Backcourt violation?? glind Basketball 6 Mon Jan 08, 2001 09:43am
Backcourt violation Stevan Basketball 2 Thu Nov 16, 2000 09:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1