The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.

Agreed -- but if it was a pass, then A1 had to be holding the ball, however briefly.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
When A2 taps it, where's the location of the ball?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Inbounds.
That's an inside joke!

Wait, we aren't supposed to be making jokes on the forum anymore or having any fun whatsoever.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.
This is a good way to test for player control! I never heard or thought of it this way. Thanks, Scrapper
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidMadness View Post
Throw in at the division line...A1 throws in to A2 in front court, doesn't catch it, just taps it back to A1 in the backcourt, I toot...Backcourt violation...No one in the whole gym knew I blew it, including my partner, My thinking is there was never any team control in the frontcourt off the throw-in, so therefore no backcourt violaton..am I correct ??
__________________________________

I'm not sure you blew it. I'd have to see it, but if the tap you mentioned qualified as a pass....then you have a violation. From what you've posted I'm leaning that way.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:57pm
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
CB 9-9-3 supports violation. Throw-in ends when legally touched. A2 touched ball with FC status. A1 grabs it in BC.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
CB 9-9-3 supports violation. Throw-in ends when legally touched. A2 touched ball with FC status. A1 grabs it in BC.
Almost,..... don't forget, you still have to have team control mixed in there before a BC violation can occur.
.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If it was a "controlled tap" (and I know that's not a defined term), then I'd also have a violation. If A2 fumbled tha ball, or it was a bad pass and A2 was just abtting it away from a defensive player, etc., then the play would be legal.
Now we could go back to the ol' A1 offensive rebound "controlled tap" that ends up untouched in the BC until A2 touches. We'd have to apply the same?

I agree with others it's looks funny, smells bad, but legal.

IMO
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.
So if an offensive player is fouled while tapping back a missed shot, you would not award free throw(s)?
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 01:43pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach View Post
So if an offensive player is fouled while tapping back a missed shot, you would not award free throw(s)?
That is not correct. NFHS 4-1-1 specifically says that a player who jumps and taps the ball toward the goal is an airborne shooter.

One of our most basic definitions is that a player is in control of the ball when s/he is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Period. That's the only 2 ways to have player control. Batting or tapping the ball does NOT establish player control. Therefore, there is no such thing as a "controlled tap".
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach View Post
So if an offensive player is fouled while tapping back a missed shot, you would not award free throw(s)?
Isn't a "tap" a "try" as long as you are attempting to make a basket?

Scrapper beat me....
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
That is not correct. NFHS 4-1-1 specifically says that a player who jumps and taps the ball toward the goal is an airborne shooter.

One of our most basic definitions is that a player is in control of the ball when s/he is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Period. That's the only 2 ways to have player control. Batting or tapping the ball does NOT establish player control. Therefore, there is no such thing as a "controlled tap".

Actually 4-1-1 says "has tapped (past tense) the ball and has not returned to the floor." Either way, that play isn't quite the same. 4-12-1 says "holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds." So I guess it comes down to your definition of holding a ball. I'd call it a gray area. One could say that controlling the ball to tap it is "holding" it, even if just for a moment. The opposite could be argued as well.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 02:00pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach View Post
A One could say that controlling the ball to tap it is "holding" it, even if just for a moment.
And one would be wrong. The ball would have to "come to rest" in the hand even for a split second for it to be considered being "held".

Remember - there's a huge difference between "holding" a keg and "tapping" a keg.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
Isn't a "tap" a "try" as long as you are attempting to make a basket?

Scrapper beat me....
And you both beat me........
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4caster View Post
But you know the funny thing with this play is the inverse, for lack of a better term. If team A has the ball in the FC, basic play, and a pass is deflected by B into the BC, A can legally retrieve the ball. Make sure I'm right on that first.
By using the discussion above, B never had team control, yet we are allowing A to retain possession. Yet a tap on a throw-in doesn't have the same restrictions. Anyone else see the contradiction in this rule?
Just my mid-morning ramblings (lack of sleep and no coffee yet)
If you allow B to tap it into the backcourt then not allow A to touch it while it is in their backcourt, you're penalizing A big time.

B taps it into the backcourt and then they are legally the only ones allowed to touch it. Major advantage. That's what the rules are for, to take away advantages like that and make the game FAIR.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 02:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
There's no such thing as a controlled tap. Either the player establishes control -- holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds -- or he doesn't. Ask yourself this: would you have granted a time-out to the player if he'd asked for it during his "controlled tap". If the answer is no, then NO VIOLATION.
I agree. Controlled tap be damned !
Rebounder taps a missed shot to backcourt and teammate retrieves the ball. ...Start the 10 second count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I believe I blew this one !!! Chess Ref Softball 1 Mon Aug 22, 2005 08:15am
Yeh, I blew it... thumpferee Baseball 4 Tue Apr 26, 2005 06:56am
I think I blew this one U_of_I_Blue Baseball 1 Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:15pm
I blew it! zebraman Basketball 34 Thu Jun 10, 2004 03:12am
Oh man, I really blew it. Mark Padgett Basketball 2 Fri Mar 12, 2004 07:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1