The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Our local Assoc. went with false because of the reason you stated....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
The answer is false. I know because I missed it!
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 10:22am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
We are never suppose to bounce the ball on the endline. But anyways, you would be correct. Check out 7-5-7.

Last edited by tjones1; Wed Nov 19, 2008 at 10:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
We are never suppose to bounce the ball on the endline. But anyways, you would be correct. Check out 7-5-7.
rule 9-12-1 tells us to do it..."The crediting of the score and subsequent procedure are the same as if the awarded score had resulted from the ball having gone through the basket, except that the official shall hand or bounce the ball to a player of the team entitled to the throw-in."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
We are never suppose to bounce the ball on the endline. But anyways, you would be correct. Check out 7-5-7.
Certain assignors or state adoption allows the bounce on the end line and some don't. You need to find out what your assignor prefers you do and do that, ours here in kentucky frown on the bounce. They say it's too much like the college game so they don't like it!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:26am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Let's clarify this non-bounce on the endline... you all are speaking of f/c throw-ins, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:28am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Let's clarify this non-bounce on the endline... you all are speaking of f/c throw-ins, correct?
BC throwin due to the awarded basket.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:39am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
BC throwin due to the awarded basket.
That's what I thought. We can bounce or hand in the b/c 'round here, f/c we hand only.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Tail and Center officials can "Bounce" the ball for a Throw in. The Lead official 'Hands' the ball to a player for a throw in. The Lead can "Boune" the ball for a throw in if the throw in occurs along the sideline between the Free Throw line extended and the endline.
When would the C administer a throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:45am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
That's what I thought. We can bounce or hand in the b/c 'round here, f/c we hand only.
Good to know.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Is the answer to the test question true or false
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 839
Bounce or not to Bounce

Tail and Center officials can "Bounce" the ball for a Throw in. The Lead official 'Hands' the ball to a player for a throw in. The Lead can "Boune" the ball for a throw in if the throw in occurs along the sideline between the Free Throw line extended and the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Tail and Center officials can "Bounce" the ball for a Throw in. The Lead official 'Hands' the ball to a player for a throw in. The Lead can "Bounce" the ball for a throw in if the throw in occurs along the sideline between the Free Throw line extended and the endline.
Just to clarify that is an NCAA mechanic. It is not the NFHS mechanic according to the 2007-09 NFHS Officials Manual. (For those areas/states which use such.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Just to clarify that is an NCAA mechanic. It is not the NFHS mechanic according to the 2007-09 NFHS Officials Manual. (For those areas/states which use such.)
Since when? This has been an NFHS mechanic for several years.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
False (assuming 2-man)
And therein lies your error. Zoochy was clearly talking about 3-man as he mentioned the Center official in his post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
T[r]ail and Center officials can "Bounce" the ball for a Throw in. The Lead official 'Hands' the ball to a player for a throw in. The Lead can "Boun[c]e" the ball for a throw in if the throw in occurs along the sideline between the Free Throw line extended and the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
And therein lies your error. Zoochy was clearly talking about 3-man as he mentioned the Center official in his post.
Just because someone several posts before mentioned a center doesn't necessarily mean the rest of the comments were exclusively about 3-man. Without further comment, someone could interpret his statements to apply to 2-man.

In fact, Zoochy mentioned bouncing the ball up the sideline by the lead. So, he was possibly also talking about 2-man.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Nov 21, 2008 at 03:08am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Part 2 question sj Basketball 18 Wed Dec 19, 2007 12:38am
Part I Test, Question # 11 garote Basketball 5 Wed Oct 06, 2004 09:55am
FED Part I question DownTownTonyBrown Baseball 4 Fri Mar 21, 2003 03:22pm
Part 1 question zac Basketball 22 Wed Oct 09, 2002 01:11pm
Help with Part I question JoeT Basketball 13 Thu Nov 02, 2000 06:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1