The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2004, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fruit Heights, UT
Posts: 141
The question states:
"Continuous motion only applies if the defenseive foul is committed against the shooter."

I say the Answer is False due to the wording in the Rule 4-11-1 "....no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player...."

Help!!!!
__________________
"Do I smell the revolting stench of self-esteem?" Mr. Marks (John Lovitz, in The Producers)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2004, 01:34pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,024
You got it right.

The answer is FALSE.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2004, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by garote
I say the Answer is False due to the wording in the Rule 4-11-1 "....no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player...."
Why are you confused? Does someone else say True?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2004, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Isn't that one of the changes to this years rulebook??
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2004, 11:41pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,024
Not a change.

It is an editorial clarification. The previous wording was not really clear. Now it is much clearer.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 06, 2004, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 50
New clarification says a basket can be counted even if a foul was committed away from the ball, but only if the shooter has continuous motion as the foul was committed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1