The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Nov 17, 2008, 09:54am
Official Forum Member

Mechanic???

Doing a Varsity scrimmage this past Friday, shaking off the rust and bad habits of rec league and AAU ball over the summer, a little shaky on mechanics and a situation came that I'm not clear on.

Team A taking ball out of bounds on endline, I'm C, player in bounds to no one and is first to touch ball. I hesitate to toot as it's leads call. He doesn't, I grab it as it was blatantly obvious and everyone is looking at me..........and I don't have a mechanic for that violation. I've been officiating for 7 years and have only seen it happen one other time from kids to Varsity.

I simply stopped clock and pointed new direction which I'm sure isn't correct. We did 2 1/2 games and forgot to bring it up in postgame.

What say you?
Old Mon Nov 17, 2008, 10:57am
Official Forum Member

Just my .02, but I'd do what you did. Open hand/whistle and I'd probably verbally say "(Throw in) violation" give direction and spot the ball. Pretty much the same as I'd do for a free throw violation. Not sure there is a specific mechanic for that.
Old Mon Nov 17, 2008, 11:00am
Official Forum Member

There is none that I know of. It is a throw-in violation and opponent gets it at the spot of the original throw-in. Open hand, point to the designated spot and verbalize "throw in violation", point direction. That's the best I could come up with.
Old Mon Nov 17, 2008, 11:31am
Official Forum Member

You're right it was leads call, I personally would have let it go. I would have asked him why he let it go. If I was him I would ask you why you're watching the thrower in and not the other players as you should be. As far as everybody looking at you, that's why you make the big bucks.
Old Mon Nov 17, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member

Quote: