The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 10:54am
Official Forum Member

Scorekeeper interrupts

Since I'm a newbie and ref mostly Soph/JV, I often have untrained student scorekeepers, and they sometimes (several times last year) blow the horn during a live ball, for example

1) while the shooter has the ball during a free throw
2) While the thrower has the ball at his disposal during a throw in
3) during live play

When the horn blows, In (1) the shooters rhythm is interrupted, and in (2) or (3) we often have half the players stop. Should we always immediately stop play?
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 11:25am
Esteemed Forum Member

Welcome To The Jungle, I Mean, Welcome To The Forum ...

Great question newbie. Welcome to the Forum. Tough question. No easy answer, but I'll give it a try.

When the shooter has the ball during a free throw, and when the thrower has the ball at his disposal during a throw in, are both situations where the clock is stopped, and although its not a dead ball situation, it's a "dead time" situation, where I would have no problem blowing my whistle, taking the ball back from the free thrower, or the thrower, and checking with the scorekeeper to see what the problem is. This way you can potentially avoid a "deadly" correctable error situation.