![]() |
|
|||
Accidental Whistle
In our online rules meeting, there's a play described where during a loose ball a time-out is granted and then it's decided the player didn't have control thus an accidental whistle. Now, before we go any further I am fully aware of 5.8.3 Situation E and know that once a time-out is granted it cannot be revoked. However, in this situation I'm about to describe we have been told to rule differently by our state association.
It's said that during a loose ball players go after it and an official grants a time-out without that player having player control. However, an official closer to the play says there wasn't player control; therefore, it's said to rule an accidental whistle and go AP. In another discussion, I stated that in my opinion it was very dangerous to make a blanket statement to go AP. My reasoning was as follows: More than likely during the loose ball there was team control (the exception would be if there was a try or tap and a long rebound that caused the loose ball - in the case the AP would apply). However, due to the accidental whistle you would go POI. Since more than likely team control existed during the loose ball. Therefore, 4-36-1 would apply and the method to putting the ball back in play would be 4-36-2a. Situation: A as the ball. A errant pass to a team mate cause the ball to be loose. Team A and Team B both go after it. They both slide. Player A requests time-out and is granted by an official. Another official says that Player A didn't have player control thus couldn't call time-out. --Again, this is what we are told to do (i.e. disregard the revoking of the time-out)-- Therefore, accidental whistle. Who gets the ball for a throw-in? I say Team A. Others say AP. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
accidental appeal or out? | Gmoore | Baseball | 8 | Fri May 16, 2008 12:50am |
accidental 3 man | totalnewbie | Basketball | 6 | Fri Nov 26, 2004 01:18am |
Accidental Appeal? | Joe Kupka | Softball | 8 | Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:28pm |
Own goal - accidental or deliberate? | Ian | Basketball | 10 | Fri May 17, 2002 03:16pm |
Accidental appeal after IW fourth out? | greymule | Baseball | 25 | Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:12am |