Accidental Whistle
In our online rules meeting, there's a play described where during a loose ball a time-out is granted and then it's decided the player didn't have control thus an accidental whistle. Now, before we go any further I am fully aware of 5.8.3 Situation E and know that once a time-out is granted it cannot be revoked. However, in this situation I'm about to describe we have been told to rule differently by our state association.
It's said that during a loose ball players go after it and an official grants a time-out without that player having player control. However, an official closer to the play says there wasn't player control; therefore, it's said to rule an accidental whistle and go AP.
In another discussion, I stated that in my opinion it was very dangerous to make a blanket statement to go AP.
My reasoning was as follows:
More than likely during the loose ball there was team control (the exception would be if there was a try or tap and a long rebound that caused the loose ball - in the case the AP would apply).
However, due to the accidental whistle you would go POI. Since more than likely team control existed during the loose ball. Therefore, 4-36-1 would apply and the method to putting the ball back in play would be 4-36-2a.
Situation:
A as the ball. A errant pass to a team mate cause the ball to be loose. Team A and Team B both go after it. They both slide. Player A requests time-out and is granted by an official. Another official says that Player A didn't have player control thus couldn't call time-out. --Again, this is what we are told to do (i.e. disregard the revoking of the time-out)--
Therefore, accidental whistle. Who gets the ball for a throw-in?
I say Team A.
Others say AP.
|