View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 01, 2008, 12:54am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
In our online rules meeting, there's a play described where during a loose ball a time-out is granted and then it's decided the player didn't have control thus an accidental whistle. Now, before we go any further I am fully aware of 5.8.3 Situation E and know that once a time-out is granted it cannot be revoked. However, in this situation I'm about to describe we have been told to rule differently by our state association.

It's said that during a loose ball players go after it and an official grants a time-out without that player having player control. However, an official closer to the play says there wasn't player control; therefore, it's said to rule an accidental whistle and go AP.

In another discussion, I stated that in my opinion it was very dangerous to make a blanket statement to go AP.

My reasoning was as follows:
More than likely during the loose ball there was team control (the exception would be if there was a try or tap and a long rebound that caused the loose ball - in the case the AP would apply).

However, due to the accidental whistle you would go POI. Since more than likely team control existed during the loose ball. Therefore, 4-36-1 would apply and the method to putting the ball back in play would be 4-36-2a.

Situation:
A as the ball. A errant pass to a team mate cause the ball to be loose. Team A and Team B both go after it. They both slide. Player A requests time-out and is granted by an official. Another official says that Player A didn't have player control thus couldn't call time-out. --Again, this is what we are told to do (i.e. disregard the revoking of the time-out)--

Therefore, accidental whistle. Who gets the ball for a throw-in?

I say Team A.

Others say AP.
Well you know how I feel about that guy Kurt who makes rulings in Illinois. Why a state association would desire to have a ruling contrary to what is written in the NFHS rules book for such a play is beyond me.
The state ruling is silly. You are 100% correct that the accidental whistle triggers the POI rule and that process should be adhered to in awarding the ball, including the possible existance of team control. Also, BY NFHS RULES the team which requested the time-out must be charged with it and both that team and the opposing side are entitled to use the time.
Reply With Quote