The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Another Question: 35

If B1 fouls A1, and before the clock starts, B2 fouls A2, it is a false multiple foul?
Would this be called a FALSE DOUBLE FOUL, NOT MULTIPLE. Or because it's by the same team would it be called a FALSE MULTIPLE FOUL?
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
If B1 fouls A1, and before the clock starts, B2 fouls A2, it is a false multiple foul?
Would this be called a FALSE DOUBLE FOUL, NOT MULTIPLE. Or because it's by the same team would it be called a FALSE MULTIPLE FOUL?
You've nailed it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
thanks!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:17pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Never really got the term "false double foul."

A double foul is two fouls by opponents at "approximately the same time."

A false double foul is one foul followed by another. Why do we not call it "one foul followed by another."

We could call a player control foul a "false blocking foul."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 176
Send a message via Yahoo to agr8zebra
Are you sure, a double foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other, at about the same time

This is a false multiple because, B fouled A twice and it is false becasue one aspect of a multiple foul is that it occur at about the same time, and the question states that time has gone by between the two fouls
__________________
Jess

After all that is said and done, more is said than done
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
I don't like any of the "false" fouls...they don't carry any different penalty at all from "regular" fouls.

A false double foul is penalized as one foul committed after another, just as a false multiple foul is. I suppose there was a reason for creating the distinction at one time, but I can't figure out what it is.

Anybody know why they're defined as such?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
If B1 fouls A1, and before the clock starts, B2 fouls A2, it is a false multiple foul?
I'm going to have to kill somebody and start over!
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 125
falses

Back in 1975 --> the false double foul resulted in a jump ball since the second foul happened before the clock starts. The rule was changed soon after.

The false multiple foul was penalized if it happened during the same situation which would have resulted in the multiple foul penalty situation. The rule was changed soon after.

The rules where changed to how they are today. Now you take the fouls and consequent throw-in or feel throws in order and the way the happen. The rule terminology is the same, the administering of them are different. It really doesn't make sense to keep them, but until they do it's a false double foul.

Last edited by iref4him; Fri Oct 31, 2008 at 01:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by iref4him View Post
Back in 1975 --> the false double foul resulted in a jump ball since the second foul happened before the clock starts. The rule was changed soon after.

The false multiple foul was penalized if it happened during the same situation which would have resulted in the multiple foul penalty situation. The rule was changed soon after.

The rules where changed to how they are today. Now you take the fouls and consequent throw-in or feel throws in order and the way the happen. The rule terminology is the same, the administering of them are different. It really doesn't make sense to keep them, but until they do it's a false double foul.
Thanks for the history lesson - that makes sense. I figured that at one time they were treated differently, and that required a separate definition of false double and multiple fouls...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:11pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
I don't like any of the "false" fouls...they don't carry any different penalty at all from "regular" fouls.

A false double foul is penalized as one foul committed after another, just as a false multiple foul is. I suppose there was a reason for creating the distinction at one time, but I can't figure out what it is.

Anybody know why they're defined as such?
I'll guess.
B pushes A down [whistle];
A gets up and pushes B down [whistle].

A is fouled during dead ball.
If false double, there is no technical, but may be shots (depending on Team foul total or shooting) .
If double, no shots

* * * *

B1 hacks non-shooting A1 [whistle];
B2 pushes non-shooting A1 [whistle].

A is fouled during live ball and during dead ball.
If false multiple there is no technical; each foul is penalized (depending on Team foul total or shooting).
If multiple, one shot for each foul. [For shooting (successful and unsuccessful) there is more differentiation.]

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
I'll guess.[INDENT]B pushes A down [whistle];
A gets up and pushes B down [whistle].
could be a fight!
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
I'll guess.
B pushes A down [whistle];
A gets up and pushes B down [whistle].
at a minimum A is done. Dead ball Contact fouls

player technical
ART. 8 . . . Intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul.
PENALTYSection 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.
NOTE: A single flagrant technical foul or the second technical foul charged to a player results in disqualification of the offender to the team bench.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
at a minimum A is done. Dead ball Contact fouls

player technical
ART. 8 . . . Intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul.
PENALTYSection 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.
NOTE: A single flagrant technical foul or the second technical foul charged to a player results in disqualification of the offender to the team bench.
If it's just a push, I'm not going flagrant. This is an act that will be judged by what follows. If it leads to a fight, it's fighting. If it doesn't, it's not.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If it's just a push, I'm not going flagrant. This is an act that will be judged by what follows. If it leads to a fight, it's fighting. If it doesn't, it's not.
Fed
SECTION 18 FIGHTING
Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur when the ball is dead or live. Fighting includes, but is not limited to combative acts such as:
ART. 1 . . . An attempt to strike, punch or kick an opponent with a fist, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether contact is made.
ART. 2 . . . An attempt to instigate a fight by committing an unsporting act toward an opponent that causes an opponent to retaliate by fighting.

now I am not saying that you are locked in here I am just saying that you have a foul that put a player on the ground - who got up and put his opponenet on the ground clearly in retaliation. you hwave a very small window to operate in here.

In the NCAA you are little more locked into more serious trouble here.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Agreed. If you jump in and it stops at the two pushes, you can settle with a personal and a T. B's initial foul is a personal. A's follow up is a T. If B responds yet again, you've likely got a fight. If a third player jumps in, you've got a fight.

I'm not counting A's initial response as fighting unless it leads to a fight.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1