![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
the player has to be on the floor to be legal - not just to have legal gaurding position.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
This is from the 04-05 interps from NFHS ( I believe this was the year they changed the rule)
SITUATION 13: A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline or (b) one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds area when A1 contacts B1 in the torso. RULING: In (a), B1 is called for a blocking foul because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position. In (b), A1 is called for a player-control foul because B2 had obtained and maintained legal guarding position. (4-23-2; 4-23-3a) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The rule that addresses this is ONLY about LGP. It declares that and OOB player can't have LGP. Thus, any contact that depends on LGP will automatically be a block if the defender is OOB. However, contact that doesn't depend on LGP is unaffected by this rule. All case plays and interpretations dealing with this situation are in the context of a player actively guarding their oppoenent...making LGP relevant. Additionally, it deals only with block/charge. Any other type of foul (illegal use of hands, push, hold and hand check) against the offensive player are still possible even if the defender is actively guarding the dribbler. EDIT: ran spell checker after seeing I had so many typos. :|
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Oct 29, 2008 at 06:50pm. |
|
|||
|
Why did B1 set up so close to the baseline that would cause him to be OOB?
The baselines and sidelines are your friend. You can easily establish your position so that you are not consider OOB thus losing your status of LGP. Block!!
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
|
Rule 10 Fouls and Penalties
Section 6 Contact ART. 2 . . . A dribbler shall not charge into nor contact an opponent in his/her path nor attempt to dribble between two opponents or between an opponent and a boundary, unless the space is such as to provide a reasonable chance for him or her to go through without contact. If a dribbler, without contact, sufficiently passes an opponent to have head and shoulders in advance of that opponent, the greater responsibility for subsequent contact is on the opponent. If a dribbler in his/her progress is moving in a straight-line path, he/she may not be crowded out of that path, but if an opponent is able to legally obtain a defensive position in that path, the dribbler must avoid contact by changing direction or ending his/her dribble. That is the FED from last year I think but I am stuck on the term legally obtain a defensive position. you can not be legal if your foot is on the line. So unless the dribbler put his head down and go out his jousting lance and ran this defender over, the call has to be a block becuase the defender is not legal. The NCAA wording is virtually identical.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But let's say the defender and ball handler are both standing there staring at each other, then the ball handler decides to run through the defender who is just standing there. Obvious charge. Turn the defender around so their back is to the ball handler, and they are just standing there; now the ball handler takes off and runs through the back of the defender. Another obvious charge, even though the defender does not have LGP, by definition. The defender is entitled to the spot on the floor, and they did not move into the path of the offensive player. This time the defender is standing with one foot OOB before the ball handler takes off - still a charge, again not because of LGP, but because they did not move into the path of the offensive player, and they're entitled to a spot on the floor.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
| block/charge | oc | Basketball | 52 | Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm |
| Block/Charge | jcash | Basketball | 55 | Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm |
| Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |
| block/charge | wolfe44 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am |