The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2024, 09:52am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
2024-25 Interpretations

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2024-25
By NFHS on October 25, 2024

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Dr. Karissa L. Niehoff, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2024

2024-25 NFHS Basketball Case Book Corrections: (Underlining shows additions; strikethrough shows deletions.)

Page 5, 10.1.1 PEN SITUATION: ... No free throws are shot and neither coach loses both coaches lose the privilege of the coaching box.

Page 52, 6.4.1 SITUATION A:…B1, a designated starter, is discovered to be wearing an illegal jersey number,…

Page 54, 6.4.1 SITUATION F: RULING: The game will start with administration of the technical-foul free throws in the order in which the fouls were called. Team B shoots first followed by Team A. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table. When the thrower of Team A is bounced the ball or it is placed at Team A’s disposal, the possession arrow will be set pointing toward Team B’s basket. (4-3, 7-5-6a) Each team is assessed a foul to count toward its team-foul count. The free throws for the technical fouls offset and the game will begin with a jump ball. Both head coaches do not lose the privilege of using the coaching box. No free throws are attempted, and the game begins with a jump ball. COMMENT: Because the technical fouls occur during pregame, in equal numbers, they offset. [10-1-1 PENALTY, 10-1-2 PENALTY, 10-2-7 PENALTY (NEW). 10-5-1 PENALTY (NEW)]

SITUATION 1 (ELECTRONIC DEVICES): An official observes a Team A team member wearing headphones during pregame or halftime warm-up. The official notifies the coach and the coach instructs the team member to remove the headphones for safety reasons. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: Electronic devices may be utilized for the purposes of recording and tracking stats, reviewing or diagramming plays, or performing other similar contest-related functions. (1-19, 3-7)

SITUATION 2 (BLOOD): The official discovers a player from Team A has a bloody nose. The official directs the player to the bench and notifies the timer to start the 20-second timer. The bleeding is stopped or controlled within 20 seconds, the player is allowed to stay in the game and play is resumed at the point of interruption. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The player may return to the game if the bleeding is stopped, the wound is covered, the uniform and/or body is appropriately cleaned, and/or the uniform is changed before returning to competition within 20 seconds. The player may return to the game if a time-out is requested by, and granted to, the player’s team and the situation can be corrected by the end of the time-out, or the head coach chooses to substitute for the bleeding player, and is given the 15-second interval of time to make the substitution. (3-3-7)

SITUATION 3 (FAKING BEING FOULED): Offensive player, A1, is dribbling the ball and fakes being fouled by using a “head bob” to simulate illegal contact. When the official identifies behavior that rises to the level of faking being fouled, the whistle is blown and the faking the foul signal (New #15) is displayed. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: First Infraction – Team A has control of the ball, so the official will report the warning to the table, notify the head coach, and the ball will be inbounded at the point of interruption (POI). If A1 was in Team A’s frontcourt, Team A would have a throw-in at one of the four designated spots closest to where the faking being foul occurred. If A1 was in Team A’s backcourt, the throw-in is from the spot out of bounds closest to where the faking being fouled occurred. Subsequent Infraction – A team technical foul is charged to Team A. Team B will shoot two free throws and is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorer’s table. (4-36- 2a, 4 49-1b, 10-2-1h, 10-2 PENALTY)

SITUATION 4 (FAKING BEING FOULED): Team B had previously been warned for faking being fouled. B1 attempts to draw a charge and the official rules that B1 was faking being fouled (second offense), the official gives the proper signal and allows play to continue so as not to penalize the offensive team. Prior to Team B gaining possession or the ball becoming dead, Team A commits a foul after the try while rebounding. Team B is not in the bonus. Team A shoots two free throws for the technical foul for the second flopping offense on Team B (team technical) and is awarded the ball at the division line opposite the scorer’s table. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: When a technical foul for faking being fouled is called (meaning the second or more infraction), the penalty for that foul goes last in the order. While the official has “seen” and “signaled” for faking being fouled first, the whistle was withheld and thus the common foul by Team A is the reason the play was stopped. Since Team B is not in the bonus, Team B does not shoot free throws for Team A’s common foul. Team A shoots free throws for the faking being fouled technical and then is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorer’s table. (4-49)

SITUATION 5 (FAKING BEING FOULED): While guarding A1, who is dribbling in the frontcourt, B1 commits the team’s second faking being fouled of the game. The official gives the proper delayed violation signal and allows play to continue. A1 then commits a traveling violation. A team technical foul is charged to Team B. Team A will shoot two free throws and is awarded the ball for a division line throw-in opposite the scorer’s table. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: Even though Team B was entitled to the throw-in as a result of the traveling violation, the technical foul and resulting penalties supersede A1’s violation. (4-49)

SITUATION 6 (CORRECTING A THROW-IN): The official administers the throw-in to the wrong team and the mistake is noticed and corrected within the time allowed. Time should be added back on the clock if the official has definite knowledge. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The ball should be put back to the original throw-in location to the “correct” team, and time should be added back on the clock with “definite” knowledge. (5-10-1, 7-6-6)

SITUATION 7: (PRE-GAME TECHNICAL FOULS): The head coach of Team A is charged with an unsporting direct technical foul during pregame and Team B is charged with team technical foul for dunking. The free throws for the technical fouls offset, each team is charged with a team foul, and the game starts with a jump ball. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: Because there were technical fouls for each team and they were equal in number, they offset and no free throws are awarded. However, the head coach of Team A loses the use of the coaching box based on the unsporting technical. Because pregame dunking has moved from a bench technical to a team technical, the head coach of Team B does not lose the privilege of using the coaching box. (10-2-7, 10-2 PENALTY, 10-5-1, 10-5 PENALTY)
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2008, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
1999-2000 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

1999-2000 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Publisher’s Note:
The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 1999

Click here for Publications Corrections

SITUATION 1: Prior to the contest, both head coaches from affirmed their players were legally equipped and would wear uniforms properly. Early in the first quarter, A3 was requested by U1 to tuck her jersey inside the uniform game pants and to keep the pants pulled up above her hips. With six minutes remaining in the quarter, A3 pulled her shorts down and jersey out. U1 stopped the game, assessed the Team A coach with a technical foul and directed A3 leave the contest.
RULING: Incorrect. A3 should be directed to leave the contest. Although the coach is responsible and verifies players are properly equipped and the uniform will be worn properly, no technical foul is assessed when players are discovered not in compliance, unless the official determines the act to be unsportsmanlike. (2-4-5, 3-4-15)

SITUATION 2: A6 and A7 report to the table as substitutes to enter the game at the beginning of the third quarter. Both players enter the court with their shirttails out and prepare to line-up for the division-line throw-in. The official directs both players to leave the court. The coach of Team B protests and insists that both players be assessed technical fouls.
RULING: The official was correct in directing the players to leave the court. (3-4-15)

SITUATION 3: During pregame warm-ups, the referee notices that player A5 has athletic tape on her ears. Upon inquiring, the referee is informed by A5 that she has just had her ears pierced and has put tape on to cover them.
RULING: A5 is instructed to remove the earrings, if she wishes to participate in the contest. (3-5-2)

SITUATION 4: U2 calls a blocking foul on A4, his fifth personal foul. U2 properly reports the foul on A4 to the scorer and then notifies the head coach of Team A that A4 committed his fifth foul. Prior to U2 advising A4 of the disqualifying foul, A4 is overheard by R berating U2. Team B is not in the bonus.
RULING: A4 became bench personnel when the coach was notified of the disqualifying foul. A4 is assessed a bench technical foul and the head coach of Team A is assessed an indirect technical foul. Team B will shoot two free throws for the technical foul and be awarded the ball for a division-line throw-in. (4-34, 10-4-5 Penalty)

SITUATION 5: The Athletic Director (A.D.) of visiting Team B is sitting on the team bench serving as a scorer. As U1 passes in front of the bench, the A.D. loudly exclaims, “You’ll never get a contract from us again.” for which U1 assessed a technical foul. Immediately after the technical was assessed, Player B1 and substitute B7 yelled “That’s bull——,” for which R assessed technical fouls against B1 and B7.
RULING: Two foul shots will be awarded A for each of the assessed technical fouls. The head coach of B is assessed two indirect technical fouls for the technical fouls assessed against bench personnel (A.D.) and B7, who is a substitute until properly reported and beckoned onto the floor by an official. After the six free throws are attempted by Team A, it will be their ball for a division-line throw-in. If the state association permits the use of a coaching box, Team B would have lost the privilege. (10-4-5 Penalty)

SITUATION 6: Player A4 leaves the playing floor before her substitute has an opportunity to report to the scorer’s table. During which time, player A4 disrespectfully addresses the nearest official.
RULING: The official assesses a technical foul on player A4. There is no indirect technical foul charged to the head coach because A4 has not been replaced and is not considered bench personnel. (3-3-3, 4-34-1, 2, 3)

SITUATION 7: A1 has just successfully completed the first shot of a bonus situation. B6 then reports to the scorer’s table and enters the game replacing B1. Team B’s coach calls a time-out before the ball is at the disposal of free-throw shooter A1. After the time out, B1 reports to the scorer’s table and attempts to enter the game replacing B6, before the second free-throw is attempted.
RULING: B1 shall not be permitted to re-enter the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been restarted, following his/her replacement.

SITUATION 8: Player B3 is called for a technical foul. Player A1 steps to the line and attempts the first free throw. A6 then reports to the table to enter the game to replace player A5 and attempt the second free throw.
RULING: Legal. A substitute may enter the game to attempt one or both free throws resulting from a technical foul. (8-3)

SITUATION 9: During a dead ball after a violation, substitute A6 enters the court without being beckoned by an official. After the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in, A6 fouls B1. It is then discovered that A6 entered illegally.
RULING: A6 became a legal player when the ball was placed at the disposal of the thrower-in. The foul is a common foul on A6. (3-3-3)

SITUATION 10: Substitute B6, wearing the number 1, properly reports to the scorer’s table. After a violation, the timer sounds the horn to request the substitution.
RULING: B6 shall be beckoned into the game. There is no infraction since the number 1 is a legal number. (3-4-3)

SITUATION 11: Ten minutes before the scheduled starting time of the game, the Referee checks the scorebook for Team B and finds starters checked included player’s identified by number as 2, 35, 00, 31 and 0.
RULING: A technical foul is assessed Team B for having 00 and 0 in the book. While 0 and 00 are legal numbers, a team may not have both 0 and 00 on the team roster. Either player No. 00 or player No. 0 will be required to change jersey numbers prior to being eligible for participation. (3-4-3, 10-1-2)

SITUATION 12: Team A players have a 2½-inch by 4-inch black patch sewn on their uniform pants in memory of a recently deceased teammate.
RULING: Legal. There are no restrictions regarding a memorial/commemorative patch on uniform pants. (3-4)

SITUATION 13: All Team A squad members have a memorial patch on their game jerseys within the 4-inch side insert.
RULING: Legal. Decorations, such as mascots, stars, commemoratives, memorial or recognition patches, insignias or logos are not permitted on the undershirt, but are permitted on the 4-inch insert of the jersey. (3-4-1)

SITUATION 14: All members of Team B are wearing a commemorative patch on the warm-up pants during the pregame warm-up. The patch is the number 12 centered in a circular patch, located on the side seam of the warm-up pant.
RULING: Legal. There is no restriction regarding commemorative patches (even though they contain a number) on the warm-up pant. (3-4)

SITUATION 15: The state association has signed a television contract for the state final tournament games. Contractually, the state association agreed to two one-minute television time-outs per quarter. The state association then stipulated that each team would be permitted only one 20-second time-out during the last two minutes of the second and fourth quarters.
RULING: Legal. When electronic media time-outs are permitted the state association may determine the number of time-outs and may reduce (or eliminate) charged time-outs. (5-12-5 Note)

SITUATION 16: Prior to the start of the game, the referee discovers the game ball does not have the NFHS Authenticating Mark.
RULING: If no other balls are available with the NFHS Authenticating Mark, the game shall proceed with an otherwise legal ball (unless the state association has determined a penalty shall apply). The referee should inform the state association of the school’s noncompliance. (1-12-1g)

SITUATION 17: B1 reaches across the boundary line and touches a ball that is being bounced by the official to thrower-in A1. What is the proper procedure?
RULING: This is a violation of the throw-in plane. The official reports the warning to the official scorer as a team warning for Team B, and instructs the scorer to record the warning in the scorebook. The official shall also inform Team B’s head coach of the warning. Any subsequent violation of the same type shall be a team technical. The official scorekeeper shall notify the official of the second same type violation. (4-46, 9-2-11)

SITUATION 18: Defensive player B1 has established legal guarding position on A1, as A1 is moving to receive a pass. A1 takes three strides and contact occurs on B1’s torso.
RULING: Personal foul on A1. B1 granted A1 at least two strides before contact occurred. (4-23-5b)

SITUATION 19: During a full time-out, the head coach of Team B has players sit on team stools at the closest free-throw area.
RULING: Time-outs must be taken from the confines of the team bench area. Coach B shall be instructed to conduct his/her time-out at the bench area. Failure to comply with this directive shall result in a technical foul assessed directly to the head coach. (5-15-5, 10-5-2a, Penalty)

SITUATION 20: Team A scores a field goal and B1 is taking the ball out of bounds, running the end line. When B1 inbounds, A1 intentionally kicks the ball.
RULING: On the ensuing throw-in, B1 will have a designated spot throw-in. (7-5-2)
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2008, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
1998-99 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

1998-99 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Publisher’s Note:
The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 1998

PRINTING ERROR:
Rules Book: Page 23, 3-4-3 change last 0 to 00.
CORRECTIONS:
Case Book: Play 11, Page 6, delete a), as it is a duplicate of c), and the ruling is incorrect in a). Part I Exam
Questions-Rule Reference Corrections: #9: 9-12; 10-3-11; #32: 4-19-7 Note; #34: 6-1-2a; #36: 4-6-1; 9-11-1; #44:
10-6 Summary Pen. 7; #84: 4-22-2; 9-12; Answer Corrections: #90: True Fund. 12

SITUATION 1: Team A players are wearing a black memorial band on the right shoulder seam of their jerseys to honor a player who was killed in a car accident.
RULING:The memorial band makes the jersey illegal. The band must be removed or a technical foul is assessed to each player when he/she enters the game for the first time. (3-4-1 or 3-4-13)

SITUATION 2: A "bobcat, jaguar, wildcat, bronco, cougar, mustang, etc." logo was painted in the center restraining circle, with no contrasting 2-inch-wide dividing line in existence where the logo was painted. The referee permits play to begin without the dividing line being marked.
RULING: Incorrect. Play shall not commence until the visible midcourt dividing line is marked. (1-3-2)

SITUATION 3: A "bobcat, jaguar, wildcat, bronco, cougar, mustang, etc." logo was painted in the center restraining circle, with no contrasting 2-inch-wide dividing line in existence where the logo was painted. The referee permits play to begin without the dividing line being marked. The game is to be officiated by a three-person crew and the three assigned officials agree they will be able to accurately cover the floor, even without the visible midcourt dividing line.
RULING: Without exception, and with no consideration for uniqueness of design, play shall not commence until the visible midcourt dividing line is marked. (1-3-2)

SITUATION 4: In the opening game of the season, after introductions, Team B starters remove their warm-ups and move to positions around the center restraining circle. Umpire No. 1 notices that each player has a 2¼-by-2 inch manufacturer’s logo on the right front of the team jersey.
RULING: The jerseys are not legal since no manufacturer’s logo or trade name may appear on a basketball team jersey. For the illegal jersey, each starter is assessed a technical foul and any entering substitute is likewise penalized. After assessing the technical fouls, the officials should permit the game to continue. (Uniforms now legal for this contest.) (10-3-3)

SITUATION 5: Prior to the start of the game, the site manager informs the officials that the coaching box will be located 10 feet from the end line for each team.
RULING: The coaching box may be used at the alternate site if approved by the state association in writing and presented to the officials prior to the start of the contest. The site manager also must inform the visiting team, preferably in advance. (1-13 Note)

SITUATION 6: While Team A is struggling to operate a four-corner offense, the head coach stands within the confines of the approved coaching box and verbally and visually requests a time-out. This request is seen and heard by the trail official who properly stops play. The coach turns back to visit with an assistant coach. The official then signals the bench to begin the time-out, at which time the head coach turns and says to the official, "We want a 20."
RULING: A full time-out is granted; no change is to be made. In the absence of a coach immediately notifying the official of the desire for a 20-second time-out, a full time-out shall be assessed. (1-13; 5-8-3; 10-5)

SITUATION 7: The scorers/timers table is located 24 feet from the north end line and extends an additional 20 feet, 6 inches toward the midcourt line. The visitors bench is located 2 feet from the end of the table, with a coaching box marked 16 to 22 feet from the end line. The visiting coach requests that the referee direct game administration to mark an optional coaching box with tape in front of the table, 22 to 28 feet from the end line.
RULING: Referee shall deny the request. Under the provision of Rules 1-13 and 1-18, while state associations may approve an alternate location for the coaching box, such location cannot be placed to interfere with official game administration. (1-13 Note)

SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt. The ball bounces off his leg into the backcourt. As A1 goes into backcourt to retrieve the ball, the head coach requests a time-out. Can the time-out request by the head coach be granted by the officials?
RULING: No. Team must be in player control when the verbal or visual request is made by the head coach and recognized by the official. (5-8-3a)

SITUATION 9: The head coach of Team A requests a time-out, and this request is honored. After the players have cleared the court, Team A’s coach gives no indication as to what type of time-out he/she is requesting. The referee indicates to the scorekeeper that the time-out will be a full-length time-out. After 30 seconds, the clock operator signals to the referee that Team A does not have a full-length time-out remaining, but it does have a 20-second time-out remaining. What should the referee do in this situation?
RULING: In order to make the best of a bad situation, the referee should get the players from both teams onto the court for play and charge Team A with a 20-second time-out.

SITUATION 10: The head coach of Team A orally requests a time-out while airborne A1 is holding the ball.
RULING: The request for a time-out is granted. A coach now may request a time-out orally or visually when his/her team is in possession of the ball. (5-8-3a)

SITUATION 11: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting a two-point try and no goal is scored. Substitutes B6, B7 and A6 have properly reported. The game is delayed because of a repair problem with the basket prior to A1’s first attempt. Will the substitutes be allowed to enter because of this undue delay?
RULING: Because of the unusual delay, B6, B7 and A6 may enter. (3-3-1c)

SITUATION 12: Late in the fourth quarter with Team A trailing by one point, the coach of Team A stands in the optional coaching box and requests a time-out. The officials sees and hears the coach’s request for time-out and calls time-out. After the time-out is acknowledged, the official is made aware that Team A has no time-outs remaining. What is the ruling?
RULING: Team A is charged with a technical foul and is granted the time-out. No direct or indirect foul is charged to the head coach. (2-11-6; 5-11-2)

SITUATION 13: A1, who is in player control, requests a 20-second time-out. The official honors the request and moves to the scorer’s table to report the request. Team A’s coach does not confirm if he/she desires a 20-second time-out prior to the official reporting to the scorer.
RULING: Because A’s coach did not indicate a 20-second time-out prior to the official reporting, a full-length time-out shall be charged. (5-8-3)

SITUATION 14: The assistant coach of Team A requests a time-out while Team A is in player control. The official sees and hears the request.
RULING: The time-out shall not be granted as only the head coach may request and be granted a time-out. (5-8-3)

SITUATION 15: Team A has a player who is deaf. The coach requests that both a signer and head coach be allowed to occupy the optional coaching box in order to relay instructions to the affected player.
RULING: The school principal shall make a written request to the state high school association which shall include written verification from a physician confirming the condition. The state association, if it approves, will return a letter of approval and this letter shall be presented to the game officials prior to each contest.

SITUATION 16: At the conclusion of the second quarter Team A and the game officials exit through the same door way. As both groups are exiting Player A1 makes a derogatory remark to the game official.
RULING: The official shall call a technical foul on the player. The technical foul shall be charged against the offender and indirectly to the head coach. The third quarter will begin with two free throws plus the ball at the division-line for a throw-in.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 10:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I guess that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. didn't send in the 1891-92 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations. I'm sure that he will eventually get up to his attic to retrieve them. Why doesn't he just keep his stuff in his drawing room, or in his parlor?

Great job Nevadaref, and justacoach.


ROFLMAO!!

MTD, Sr.


P.S. First, NevadaRef needs to get a hobby.

P.P.S. I think that NevadaRef deserves three cheers for getting these interpretations out on the Forum. Thank you NevadaRef.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2024-25 Indianaref Basketball 1 Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:57am
2024-25 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations ... BillyMac Basketball 0 Thu Oct 17, 2024 02:47pm
NFHS Past and Present Rules Interps (Rules Changes through 2024) Robert E. Harrison Baseball 14 Fri Mar 15, 2024 04:50pm
Past POE Archive Freddy Basketball 8 Tue Jan 03, 2017 07:53pm
Added another audio pre-game to the archive. ca_rumperee Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2008 07:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1