The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 03:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Tonight, boys varsity. Black number 50 commits his fifth personal foul. Partner reports the foul, then tells coach 50 has 5. Coach asks a question about the foul, partner gives a brief answer. Coach nods. Everybody seems satisfied. But coach just keeps standing there. 50 keeps standing there on the court. Partner says 20 seconds. 15 seconds....horn 5 more seconds...horn Partner call a T on the coach for failing to replace his player. BUT, 22 black was standing at the X waiting to check in before the foul was ever committed, and continued to stand there until after the T call. Partner apparently wanted the coach to specify that 22 was to replace his fouled out player. I said as far as I knew, the coach had a sub standing on the X, so no further action or comment was necessary.
Right?
First, I hope that YOU typed this backwards, not that the timer did it backwards. It should be "5 seconds...horn, 15 more seconds...horn."

Secondly, there was an NFHS play ruling that says that if a sub from the team with the DQ'd player comes to the table, or is at the table, during the DQ interval, the official should ask who he is replacing.

Here it is:

2002-03 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 3: A1 fouls out of the game. The Team A coach talks to a substitute and within 15 seconds sends the substitute to the table to report in the game. A Team B player then requests a time-out. RULING: Since a time-out may not be granted until a disqualified player is replaced, the administering official should ask the substitute at the table if he/she is the replacement for A1. If so, the time-out may be granted. If not, the substitute shall remain at the table and the coach must still replace A1 within the specified timeframe before the time-out may be granted. (3-3-1;10-5-1d; 5-8-3b)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 06:48am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
Black 50, That's Your Fifth Foul ...

Black 50 became bench personnel when the head coach was informed that he had fouled out, but did anyone ever tell Black 50, as the rules state, that he had fouled out? It's not clear in the original post.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 08:01am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Black 50 became bench personnel when the head coach was informed that he had fouled out, but did anyone ever tell Black 50, as the rules state, that he had fouled out? It's not clear in the original post.

Yes
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 08:00am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
First, I hope that YOU typed this backwards, not that the timer did it backwards. It should be "5 seconds...horn, 15 more seconds...horn."

Secondly, there was an NFHS play ruling that says that if a sub from the team with the DQ'd player comes to the table, or is at the table, during the DQ interval, the official should ask who he is replacing.

Here it is:

2002-03 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 3: A1 fouls out of the game. The Team A coach talks to a substitute and within 15 seconds sends the substitute to the table to report in the game. A Team B player then requests a time-out. RULING: Since a time-out may not be granted until a disqualified player is replaced, the administering official should ask the substitute at the table if he/she is the replacement for A1. If so, the time-out may be granted. If not, the substitute shall remain at the table and the coach must still replace A1 within the specified timeframe before the time-out may be granted. (3-3-1;10-5-1d; 5-8-3b)
Typed what backwards? Yeah, yeah, it was me. I fixed it. This situation seems to be more about granting the timeout than anything else.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It Never Fails refnrev Basketball 10 Thu Dec 13, 2007 02:33pm
30 seconds to replace DQ'd player A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 37 Sat Mar 15, 2003 10:00pm
Live ball; coach fails to ask for time Patrick Szalapski Baseball 8 Thu Feb 27, 2003 10:55pm
Flagrant DQ'ed player williebfree Basketball 12 Mon Jan 13, 2003 07:44am
replace injured player Troward Basketball 6 Thu Jan 09, 2003 07:56am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1