The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 01:07pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
6-4-3g needs to be re-written. . . [snip]. . .[T]he rule is misleading as it is currently written.
Not trying to be a wise guy, but what's misleading about it? Use the AP arrow when there's a double or simultaneous foul and there no team control and there's no other infraction, goal or end of period involved. That seems pretty clear to me, I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Not trying to be a wise guy, but what's misleading about it? Use the AP arrow when there's a double or simultaneous foul and there no team control and there's no other infraction, goal or end of period involved. That seems pretty clear to me, I guess.
The misleading thing is that this doesn't apply to the throw in. On a throw-in, you don't go AP if there's a double foul. But that's not explained in 6-4-3g.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 01:21pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
The misleading thing is that this doesn't apply to the throw in. On a throw-in, you don't go AP if there's a double foul.
Interesting, ok. I see your point. It refers to no control and to a goal, infraction, or end of period being involved, but doesn't mention the caveat about "during a free throw or throw-in". Basically, they referenced two-thirds of the POI definition and then left out the last third.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Interesting, ok. I see your point. It refers to no control and to a goal, infraction, or end of period being involved, but doesn't mention the caveat about "during a free throw or throw-in". Basically, they referenced two-thirds of the POI definition and then left out the last third.
Exactamundo.

I had the same reaction as the OP when I first was presented with this scenario. Upon first thought, I was pretty sure it should be AP, so I went to the rule book. The way that rule reads, I felt justified in my answer, so I stopped looking. Therein lies the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Interesting, ok. I see your point. It refers to no control and to a goal, infraction, or end of period being involved, but doesn't mention the caveat about "during a free throw or throw-in". Basically, they referenced two-thirds of the POI definition and then left out the last third.
But it does...

The reason for all free-throws is an infraction and the reason for most throwins is an infraction or a made goal.

So, an infraction or goal is involved in most throwins.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 03:19pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The reason for all free-throws is an infraction and the reason for most throwins is an infraction or a made goal.

So, an infraction or goal is involved in most throwins.
I understand your point, but that's not really what the rule means by saying a goal or infraction is involved, IMHO.

Say you've blown the whistle for a travel. While you're giving the signal, 2 guys foul each other. There's no control, so you might think that you need to use the arrow. But since the travel was the last thing to happen before the double foul, that's where you resume.

Now, change it slightly. You've blown the whistle for the travel and bounced the ball to the inbounder. NOW two guys foul each other. Still no control, but now to complicate it, the last thing to happen before the double foul was NOT the infraction. It was the start of a throw-in. That's why there's a provision for a throw-in when the interruption occurs during a throw-in; because the interruption didn't really occur right after the infraction; there really isn't any infraction "involved" in that interruption.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I understand your point, but that's not really what the rule means by saying a goal or infraction is involved, IMHO.

Say you've blown the whistle for a travel. While you're giving the signal, 2 guys foul each other. There's no control, so you might think that you need to use the arrow. But since the travel was the last thing to happen before the double foul, that's where you resume.

Now, change it slightly. You've blown the whistle for the travel and bounced the ball to the inbounder. NOW two guys foul each other. Still no control, but now to complicate it, the last thing to happen before the double foul was NOT the infraction. It was the start of a throw-in. That's why there's a provision for a throw-in when the interruption occurs during a throw-in; because the interruption didn't really occur right after the infraction; there really isn't any infraction "involved" in that interruption.
"Inovolved" doesn't end just because the throwin begins. Involved has a larger scope than just at the time of the last whistle.

This is not that much different than the case play where an AP throwin is given to the wrong team but is caught and whistled dead prior to the ball being touched inbounds.

The "involved" part continues until the penalty for the infraction is complete or some other infraction occurs which supercedes the original infraction (and a double foul doesn't superceded the original infraction...it just temporarily interrupts it).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 06:48pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
"Inovolved" doesn't end just because the throwin begins. Involved has a larger scope than just at the time of the last whistle.

The "involved" part continues until the penalty for the infraction is complete or some other infraction occurs which supercedes the original infraction
If this were true, Camron, there would be no need to say that the POI is a free throw if the interruption occurs during a free throw, because a free throw is always preceded by an infraction.

As I said, JMO, but I think you're reaching on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Not trying to be a wise guy, but what's misleading about it? Use the AP arrow when there's a double or simultaneous foul and there no team control and there's no other infraction, goal or end of period involved. That seems pretty clear to me, I guess.
Because there is no team control on a throw-in, and it says
"Use the AP arrow when there's a double or simultaneous foul and there no team control "
But if you look at the other part of the book it says unless it's a free throw or a throw in!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul During Free Throw cropduster Basketball 63 Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am
Double Violation on free throw Largent Basketball 11 Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:08pm
Double foul on throw-in clarification blindzebra Basketball 2 Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm
Double base / errant throw redux Dakota Softball 3 Tue Aug 06, 2002 09:40pm
Free Throw/Double Violation? OK Ref Basketball 5 Mon Jan 28, 2002 06:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1