The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 01:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeedonk View Post
The case book cites to R 9:1-3 (a) and (e), neither of which, to me, specifically relates to what happened in the case play. On the other hand, it seems easy enough to remember that once the thrower has the ball at his disposal, if he loses it and it rolls away- it's a violation.

Could the player, his coach, or a teammate call time-out while the ball is rolling away?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
he could not call a TO because he is not in player control or the ball is not at his disposal
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,498
Old News ...

From Scrapper1 back on October 1:

9.1.1 has been changed this year. They added a situation where the free thrower loses the ball while doing his habitual dribbling before attempting the try. This year they're telling us this is a violation. If he muffs the pass from the official, reset and administer it again. But once he gets it, if he's just clumsy, it's a violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,498
Could Someone Please Just Toss That Ball Back To Me ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by palmettoref View Post
he could not call a TO because he is not in player control or the ball is not at his disposal
Good call. They have team control, but, as you stated, no player control (dribbling, or holding), or ball at disposal, nor is there a dead ball, the ball became live when it was put at the free thrower's disposal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 06:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Next question, and I'll probably answer it myself in a few seconds; what prevents A2 from picking it up if it rolls to him and passing it back to A1?

Okay, checked the relevant rules, and there's nothing I could find which prevents a teammate (or opponent) from passing the loose ball back to the shooter as long as he shoots within 10 seconds of first receiving the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Wed Oct 08, 2008 at 06:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 07:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Next question, and I'll probably answer it myself in a few seconds; what prevents A2 from picking it up if it rolls to him and passing it back to A1?

Okay, checked the relevant rules, and there's nothing I could find which prevents a teammate (or opponent) from passing the loose ball back to the shooter as long as he shoots within 10 seconds of first receiving the ball.
Common Sense???

Just kidding, that spilled over from another thread.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 07:57am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
what prevents A2 from picking it up if it rolls to him and passing it back to A1?
Wouldn't it be something if A2 commits a lane violation while retrieving the ball and giving it back to A1....and then A1 makes the shot, which is then subsequently wiped away by A2's violation?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
It would be something...a late whistle.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In case you haven't seen this... IDref Soccer 10 Sat Jul 21, 2007 02:30pm
Part 1 and Part 2 NFHS tests WindyCityBlue Baseball 28 Mon Nov 22, 2004 02:49pm
Case 6.3.2 rwest Basketball 8 Thu Oct 28, 2004 04:04pm
Case Play, Part II ejstuart Soccer 6 Mon May 03, 2004 08:48pm
ASA case oppool Softball 6 Wed Feb 14, 2001 11:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1