The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Ok, double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.
But wait a minute... the arrow hadn't switched because the throw-in (to the wrong team) hadn't ended yet. It seems logical to fix the mistake here & give it to Team A.

Or better yet, don't %#&* it up to begin with!
POI goes to arrow if there is no team control or throwin, so you can't go to the arrow here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:05pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.
Double fouls ALWAYS go to the POI. It's just that sometimes the POI is the AP arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Double fouls ALWAYS go to the POI. It's just that sometimes the POI is the AP arrow.
A throwin is not one of those times, though.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:13pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:15pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
A throwin is not one of those times, though.
True. I merely wanted to dispel the idea of "go to the POI unless. . ." No, always go to the POI. You may end up using the arrow, but that is still the POI in certain situations.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?
I'm correcting the original error and giving the ball to A for an AP throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:18pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Appreciate that kind sir! Gotta get my verbage up to par.
Double fouls go to POI, when no team control POI is the AP arrow, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Doesnt seem like anyone else wants to play... how would you handle this sitch Snaq?
Has the throw-in ended? I think that will lead you to the correct answer.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:20pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm correcting the original error and giving the ball to A for an AP throwin.
Okay that's what I thought (see post #14) as the throw-in hadn't ended. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Appreciate that kind sir! Gotta get my verbage up to par.
Double fouls go to POI, when no team control POI is the AP arrow, correct?
Not correct.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:24pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not correct.
Okay, could you help me out then?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:27pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Okay, could you help me out then?
I started a new thread just for you.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 06:48pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Have Rules, Will Travel ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Interesting. A bit of incentive for A to kick the ball here; although the odds against them knowing of the error and thinking of this way to correct it within the 2 seconds or so they'll have are pretty long.
Not if Jurassic Referee was the player involved.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 07:26pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?

Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", .

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 03:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", .

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).
You got the administration under NFHS rules correct, but for the WRONG reason. You forgot that step B in the POI process gives the ball to a team if the stoppage occurred during a throw-in or the team is entitled to a throw-in. So that's the POI, not the AP arrow. Following the double foul DURING the throw-in, Team A is still entitled to an AP throw-in from before and the official can still fix the mistake of awarding the ball to the wrong team. So give the ball to Team A for an AP throw-in under 4-36-2b and 7.5.2 Sit A.

Your ruling for NCAA is incorrect because Team A would not retain the arrow following the official fixing the previous mistake and giving them their entitled AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oops.... Four Seam Softball 2 Sat May 19, 2007 05:42pm
oops pauli Football 3 Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:59pm
oops! Snake~eyes Football 16 Mon Sep 27, 2004 06:49pm
An Oops. mick Basketball 3 Fri Oct 06, 2000 05:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1