The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Arrow oops! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/49187-arrow-oops.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:26pm

Arrow oops!
 
A held ball is called and the AP arrow favors Team A. The officials mistakenly award the ball to Team B. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is immediately kicked by A1. The table then informs the officials that Team A should have had the last throw-in. What happens next?

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:36pm

"We made a mistake coach (Team A) but you get 2 of the next 3 arrows"

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540474)
A held ball is called and the AP arrow favors Team A. The officials mistakenly award the ball to Team B. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is immediately kicked by A1. The table then informs the officials that Team A should have had the last throw-in. What happens next?


Scrapper1:

NFHS R4-S42-A5: "The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is legally touched by a player inbounds or out of bounds, except as in R7-S5-A7." See NCAA R4-S67-A4 for the comparable rule.

Your situation is not a Correctable Error (ER) and I know, but cannot find it in the rules book, that it if it is discovered before the AP Throw-in ends that the wrong team has been given the ball for the AP Throw-in has ended that the correct team can be given the ball for the AP Throw-in. Since, by definition the throw-in in your situation did not end because A1 did not legally touch the ball, Team A is awarded the ball for an AP Throw-in at this point in the game.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 540481)
"We made a mistake coach (Team A) but you get 2 of the next 3 arrows"


Ch1town:

Wrong answer, see my post immediately below yours.

MTD, Sr.

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:54pm

That's right, I remember the big deal last year about a kick on a AP throw-in. The next throw-in is for the violation & the team retains the arrow. So yeah the throw-in never ended & can still be corrected. Thanks MTD!

Scrapper1 Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 540485)
if it is discovered before the AP Throw-in ends that the wrong team has been given the ball for the AP Throw-in has ended that the correct team can be given the ball for the AP Throw-in. Since, by definition the throw-in in your situation did not end because A1 did not legally touch the ball, Team A is awarded the ball for an AP Throw-in at this point in the game.

Bingo. Again, you guys are too smart and too quick. I was hoping there would be a little more discussion before somebody remembered that it can be corrected until the throw-in ends.

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 540496)
Bingo. Again, you guys are too smart and too quick. I was hoping there would be a little more discussion before somebody remembered that it can be corrected until the throw-in ends.

Interesting. A bit of incentive for A to kick the ball here; although the odds against them knowing of the error and thinking of this way to correct it within the 2 seconds or so they'll have are pretty long.

jdmara Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:52pm

So if B would have successfully thrown the ball into play, nothing could have been corrected if noticed?

-Josh

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 540530)
So if B would have successfully thrown the ball into play, nothing could have been corrected if noticed?

-Josh

That's correct, regardless of the outcome of the throwin (catch by offense, steal by defense, tip out of bounds by defense or offense).

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 01:59pm

Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?

jdmara Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:19pm

Shew...I think there is a rule book calling may name tonight...time to read up again on CE

-Josh

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:24pm

It won't be under CE. This is one you'll need to combine some things for.

jdmara Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540542)
It won't be under CE. This is one you'll need to combine some things for.

It's time to look at CE again anyways, along with the rest of the rulebook

-Josh

Ch1town Wed Oct 01, 2008 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 540534)
Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?

Ok, double fouls go to POI unless there is no team control (throw-in) in which case we'd go to the arrow.
But wait a minute... the arrow hadn't switched because the throw-in (to the wrong team) hadn't ended yet. It seems logical to fix the mistake here & give it to Team A.

Or better yet, don't %#&* it up to begin with!

Adam Wed Oct 01, 2008 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 540550)
It's time to look at CE again anyways, along with the rest of the rulebook

-Josh

Fair enough. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1