The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 27, 2008, 09:44am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,401
Correctable Errors, Can't Live With Them, Can't Live Without Them ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
For those who have the 2008-09 Case Book, do you think that the NFHS messed up the ruling on this one or that they are considering the ball to have remained dead since it should have and thus no team control ever occurred? A1 is fouled and entitled to 2 FTs. Officials state and administer 1 and 1. The first attempt is unsuccessful. B4 rebounds and passes to B2 near midcourt. The error is recognized at this time during the live ball. NFHS ruling: Stop play and correct the error by allowing A1 his 2nd FT attempt WITH PLAYERS ON THE LANE and play resumes from the FT. Rationale: The rebound and passing by Team B constitutes no change in team possession."
Is this a correctable error? Yes. Failure to award a merited free throw, the second free throw of a two shot foul. 2-10-1: Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in: a. Failure to award a merited free throw.

Was it recognized in the correctable error time frame? Yes. 2-10-2: In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

After the error was corrected, was the ball put back into play properly? I'm not sure. 2-10-6: If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point at which it was interrupted to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).

In this play, a change of team possession may have occurred. If the error occurred when the official stated one-and-one, then Team A had team possession, when the ball was at the disposal of A1, during the first (missed) free throw. There was no team possession after the ball was released on the first free throw. Team B obtained team possession when B4 rebounded the ball, and maintained team possession when B2 had possession of the ball, at which time the error was discovered. A change team possession from Team A to Team B. In this case put the ball back in play at the point of interruption, ball going to Team B for a throwin at midcourt.

However, one might say that actual error occurred after the first free throw attempt, when A1 did not get his, or her, second merited free throw, when B rebounded the ball, i.e. Team A never had team control after the error, so there never was a change in team possession, Team B had the ball for the entire time after the error occurred. In this case, put the ball back in play with the second free throw, with players on the lane line to rebound a miss, or continue playing with a throwin by Team B after a make.

Before reading this thread, I would have gone with the first case, change in team possession, put the ball back in play at the point of interruption, ball going to Team B for a throwin at midcourt. After reading this thread, I'm not so sure that that is the correct procedure. I can't wait to see some other Forum members give their opinions of this situation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 27, 2008, 11:01am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I've always thought of a defensive rebound on a freethrow to be change of possession.
A had possession on a live ball, B gets the rebound. How is this not a change of possession?
B got a legitimate rebound when all players thought the ball was live.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 27, 2008, 11:59am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,401
Deem Was The Word Of The Day For September 27 On My Word Of The Day Calendar ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I've always thought of a defensive rebound on a free throw to be change of possession. A had possession on a live ball, B gets the rebound. How is this not a change of possession? B got a legitimate rebound when all players thought the ball was live.
"I've always thought of a defensive rebound on a free throw to be change of possession". I think you're correct.

"All players thought the ball was live". The ball was alive. It was live as soon as the A1 had the ball at his, or her, disposal. I don't think the error changes the status of the ball being live, or dead.

I think the question in this situation becomes, what was the error, and when did the error occur.

Look at the rule again: 2-10-6: If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point at which it was interrupted to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).

Was the error the official stating "One-and-one", instead of "Two shots"; or was the error not awarding A1 their second merited free throw?

Once you answer that question, then the question becomes, "Has there been a change of team possession since the error was made?" If you deem the error to be the erroneous statement of "One-and-one", then there certainly has been a change in team possession. If, on the other hand, you deem the error to be not awarding A1 their second merited free throw, then there has been no change in team possession, Team B has had team possession the entire time "since the error was made".

Since Nevadaref posted this situation, I'm starting to lean toward the error to be not awarding A1 their second merited free throw, no change in team possession, put the ball back in play with the second free throw, with players on the lane line. I would have gone the other way, change in team possession, put the ball back in play at the point of interruption, after giving A1 his, or her, merited free throw, before Nevadaref's original post started me doing some serious thinking about this situation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Sat Sep 27, 2008 at 07:52pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007-08 Case Book 10.6.1 Situation A: NoFear Basketball 10 Thu Jun 26, 2008 07:00pm
Where is this situation in rule or case book?? jarecker1 Basketball 11 Sat Dec 11, 2004 07:44pm
Case book play tempestos Football 18 Sun Nov 16, 2003 07:24pm
Case Book Play APHP Basketball 15 Wed Jul 02, 2003 03:50pm
Can't find a case-book play jbduke Basketball 14 Wed Dec 19, 2001 07:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1