![]() |
|
|
|||
Muff during Spot Throw In?
Gals and Gents,
Sitch: "The thrower on a spot throw-in with the ball put at his disposal, after muffing the ball which rolls away from his spot out-of-bounds, may go retrieve the ball, return to his designated spot, and throw the ball in without a violation." This was expressed to me by a credible source. As with anything I hear, I want to run it by the rules, and I can't find anywhere that this is allowable. Only that, "The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released." (4-42-6 NOTE). Has anybody ever heard of such a thing not being a violation? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
A muff indicates a pass that was not handled cleanly, does it not? If the official passed the ball to the thrower and it is not handled, redo it. If the thrower fumbles the ball away, I don't see how you can help him.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Once I give him the ball, he's in charge. When he muffs the ball due to a fake pass, or due to too many thumbs, if he leaves the designated spot he causes a violation of 7-6-3 leaving the spot before releasing a throw-in pass. Lower levels could easily be do-overs. |
|
|||
Quote:
But, there is (or was) an NCAA case play to the effect mentioned in the OP (after "controlling" (and I don't mean to imply Player Control) the ball, and then losing it, the player may retrieve it, return to the original spot and complete the throw-in) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in spot | buckrog64 | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:45am |
Throw-in Spot | buffett | Basketball | 4 | Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:24am |
Throw in spot | tjchamp | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:55pm |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |
Throw-in spot | Mlancaster | Basketball | 8 | Mon Jan 15, 2001 07:20pm |